Game restarts - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2006, 10:35 AM   #31 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to Nirvana728
Default

anyone...?
__________________

Nirvana728 is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 01:59 PM   #32 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

have some more patience , remember ppl on this forum are from around the globe (diffrent time zones)+have their life too lol

the voltages looks fine , the cpu temp is pretty high and on load it might get too high.. could be the reason for the restarts , also the hd temp isnt the greatest 44 is alright but the max temp is 55 and it can get very close to it on load , i suggest youll get an hd cooler
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835119063
and also more case fans if theres room for em

do the torture test in prime95 , the 2nd one (in-place large ffts) let it run for 3hrs , and at the same time monitor the temps/voltages with everest , see how high the cpu temp goes & how low the voltages go , while the voltages looks stable it can still be the psu some just cant handle it on load , and next time it happens check the minidump folder..
__________________

jeremy is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 02:24 PM   #33 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to Nirvana728
Default

Ok, will do, hey thanks for all the help sorry if I seem impatient, this is just really bugging me (thats all computer seem to do nowadays) but, I really do appreciate it.
Nirvana728 is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 03:00 PM   #34 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

A Tbred core has a max temperature of 90c so there is nothing wrong with your cpu temp, infact i'm surprised its not running hotter.
You might try underclocking it or bumping the voltage a tad but from that everest readout it looks fine.

Seriously though I doubt its the CPU unless your getting consistent load temps 80c+ I wouldn't worry about that at all.

I'm thinking maybe its your PSU, I know its new but these are one of the most common failing parts on a computer.

I take it you did look for dodgey caps? sometimes they can looking like they're covered in glue or rust if they're failing.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 05:13 PM   #35 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to Nirvana728
Default

I took a look at my caps, there fine, Im starting to think its my PSU also. It may be new but I heard really bad reviews about it, I think im going to try and buy an Antec SmartPower 2.0, are they anygood?
Nirvana728 is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 08:00 PM   #36 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

your psu isnt the greatest i agree with that and it might fry one or more parts if it will ever fail , but if its good enough to run your system is another issue

please dont think too much, you can test and know for sure :bald: , as alredy said stress test with prime95 and monitor voltages/temps with everest , the voltages looks stable but its possible some of em will go too low on load.. its also possible the cpu temp will get too high , and as alredy said check the minidump folder next time it happens.. , also its a longshot but maybe a driver issue get the latest graphic/sound drivers

i recommend these psus
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104954
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103928
maybe it wont resolve the issue , but it will never fry any other part but itself
jeremy is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 08:23 PM   #37 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to Nirvana728
Default





If you take a look, Im running both games that are causing me problems, are these voltages good?
Nirvana728 is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 08:42 PM   #38 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

yeah , but you should still do the torture test in prime95
also as alredy said get latest graphic/sound drivers

edit next time you take a screenshot use alt+prtscn , it will capture only the current (active) window
jeremy is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 08:59 PM   #39 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to Nirvana728
Default

Ok, even with the tourture test running im getting very similar results, does this mean it isnt the power supply? I already have the latest drivers for my video card and Direct X 9.0c.
Nirvana728 is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 09:13 PM   #40 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

you cant say its stable after only few mins of stress testing , you should give it a few hours , also keep an eye on the cpu temp

get the latest sound driver,
and as for the video card, is that latest official or beta?

i suggest youll try one of these video drivers
http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=1387
http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=1390
__________________

jeremy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.