Game Performance (Hoping for help from smart people) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2011, 04:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
Default Game Performance (Hoping for help from smart people)

Hey Guys,

I come here hoping for help with an issue that I've been working on since early october and can't figure out what is wrong.

I am not super smart when it comes to PCs, I've recently moved and my buddies that always used to help me with computer related help are now 16 hours away.

I have one need: My computer MUST run Diablo 3 perfectly.

I'm in the beta for Diablo 3 and any time too much is happeneing on the screen, I get slow down. If there are more than 8 monsters or more than 1 or 2 objects are being deystroyed on the screen, the games slows down. My worry is that my system should not be slowing down for D3. I upgraded my video card and still have the same issues (went from a GTS 250 to a GTS 560ti). From everything I have found out from various Diablo forums, My system should be able to run at full and not expirience any problems. So, I am hoping for some one to have some things for me to try? I have already downloaded Spy-Bot S&D and ran it. It did find 9 things (thought my AVG was on top of that stuff) but I still get the same problems.

So what could be wrong? Other games that my system should be running perfectly get similar performace issues (Might and Magic: Heroes -the newest one and Batman: Arkum to name a few). It also doesn't seem to matter what setting I use in the games.. My first through is my processor is bad, but it doesn't seem to be maxing out. Maybe I have some graphics settings in the NVIDIA set up pages set wrong? It just feels like the system can run these games, but just isn't for some reason.

Any help you can provide would be awesome

I'm adding all the info I could think of in case any one can help, thank you!

Here is a shot of my Procceses and Proccessor usage during the slow downs:


Here is a shot of what my temps are during gameplay:


Here is my DXDIAG info: (My Processor shows as "Model unknown" for some reason. It is actualy a CPU AMD|PH II X4 945W 3.0G AM3 R - Retail)

Time of this report: 11/22/2011, 18:04:16
Machine name: DAVID-PC
Operating System: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.110622-1506)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: ASUSTeK Computer INC.
System Model: M3N WS
BIOS: Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG
Processor: AMD Processor model unknown (4 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
Memory: 4096MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 4094MB RAM
Page File: 2341MB used, 5845MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
DxDiag Version: 6.01.7601.17514 32bit Unicode

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti
Manufacturer: NVIDIA
Chip type: GeForce GTX 560 Ti
DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_1200&SUBSYS_15673842&REV_A1
Display Memory: 2784 MB
Dedicated Memory: 993 MB
Shared Memory: 1791 MB
Current Mode: 1920 x 1200 (32 bit) (59Hz)
Monitor Name: Generic PnP Monitor
Monitor Model: Acer G24
Monitor Id: ACR005C
Native Mode: 1920 x 1200(p) (59.950Hz)
Output Type: DVI
Driver Name: nvd3dumx.dll,nvwgf2umx.dll,nvwgf2umx.dll,nvd3dum,n vwgf2um,nvwgf2um
Driver File Version: 8.17.0012.8562 (English)
Driver Version: 8.17.12.8562
DDI Version: 11
Driver Model: WDDM 1.1
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 10/15/2011 03:53:00, 15693120 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: Yes
WHQL Date Stamp:
Device Identifier: {D7B71E3E-5140-11CF-807A-6B351FC2C535}
Vendor ID: 0x10DE
Device ID: 0x1200
SubSys ID: 0x15673842
Revision ID: 0x00A1
Driver Strong Name: oem16.inf:NVIDIA_SetA_Devices.NTamd64.6.1:Section0 05:8.17.12.8562ci\ven_10de&dev_1200
Rank Of Driver: 00E62001
D3D9 Overlay: Supported
DXVA-HD: Supported
DDraw Status: Enabled
D3D Status: Enabled
AGP Status: Enabled

-------------
Sound Devices
-------------
Description: Speakers (Siberia v2 D3H)
Default Sound Playback: Yes
Default Voice Playback: Yes
Hardware ID: USB\VID_1038&PID_1210&REV_0110&MI_00
Manufacturer ID: 65535
Product ID: 65535
Type: WDM
Driver Name: USBAUDIO.sys
Driver Version: 6.01.7601.17514 (English)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
WHQL Logo'd: Yes
Date and Size: 11/20/2010 05:43:52, 109696 bytes
Other Files:
Driver Provider: Microsoft
HW Accel Level: Basic
Cap Flags: 0xF1F
Min/Max Sample Rate: 100, 200000
Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 1, 0
Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
HW Memory: 0
Voice Management: No
EAX™ 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
I3DL2™ Listen/Src: No, No
Sensaura™ ZoomFX™: No

Description: Digital Audio (S/PDIF) (2- High Definition Audio Device)
Default Sound Playback: No
Default Voice Playback: No
Hardware ID: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC&DEV_0888&SUBSYS_104382AF& REV_1000
Manufacturer ID: 1
Product ID: 65535
Type: WDM
Driver Name: HdAudio.sys
Driver Version: 6.01.7601.17514 (English)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
WHQL Logo'd: Yes
Date and Size: 11/20/2010 05:44:23, 350208 bytes
Other Files:
Driver Provider: Microsoft
HW Accel Level: Basic
Cap Flags: 0xF1F
Min/Max Sample Rate: 100, 200000
Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 1, 0
Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
HW Memory: 0
Voice Management: No
EAX™ 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
I3DL2™ Listen/Src: No, No
Sensaura™ ZoomFX™: No

Description: Speakers (2- High Definition Audio Device)
Default Sound Playback: No
Default Voice Playback: No
Hardware ID: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC&DEV_0888&SUBSYS_104382AF& REV_1000
Manufacturer ID: 1
Product ID: 65535
Type: WDM
Driver Name: HdAudio.sys
Driver Version: 6.01.7601.17514 (English)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
WHQL Logo'd: Yes
Date and Size: 11/20/2010 05:44:23, 350208 bytes
Other Files:
Driver Provider: Microsoft
HW Accel Level: Basic
Cap Flags: 0xF1F
Min/Max Sample Rate: 100, 200000
Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 1, 0
Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
HW Memory: 0
Voice Management: No
EAX™ 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
I3DL2™ Listen/Src: No, No
Sensaura™ ZoomFX™: No

---------------------
Sound Capture Devices
---------------------
Description: Microphone (Siberia v2 D3H)
Default Sound Capture: Yes
Default Voice Capture: Yes
Driver Name: USBAUDIO.sys
Driver Version: 6.01.7601.17514 (English)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Date and Size: 11/20/2010 05:43:52, 109696 bytes
Cap Flags: 0x1
Format Flags: 0xFFFFF

-------------------
DirectInput Devices
-------------------
Device Name: Mouse
Attached: 1
Controller ID: n/a
Vendor/Product ID: n/a
FF Driver: n/a

Device Name: Keyboard
Attached: 1
Controller ID: n/a
Vendor/Product ID: n/a
FF Driver: n/a

Device Name: G500
Attached: 1
Controller ID: 0x0
Vendor/Product ID: 0x046D, 0xC068
FF Driver: n/a

Device Name: G500
Attached: 1
Controller ID: 0x0
Vendor/Product ID: 0x046D, 0xC068
FF Driver: n/a

Device Name: G500
Attached: 1
Controller ID: 0x0
Vendor/Product ID: 0x046D, 0xC068
FF Driver: n/a

Device Name: Steelseries Consumer
Attached: 1
Controller ID: 0x0
Vendor/Product ID: 0x1038, 0x1020
FF Driver: n/a

Device Name: SteelSeries Diablo III Headset
Attached: 1
Controller ID: 0x0
Vendor/Product ID: 0x1038, 0x1210
FF Driver: n/a

Poll w/ Interrupt: No

-----------
USB Devices
-----------
+ USB Root Hub
| Vendor/Product ID: 0x10DE, 0x077B
| Matching Device ID: usb\root_hub
| Service: usbhub

----------------
Gameport Devices
----------------

------------
PS/2 Devices
------------
+ Standard PS/2 Keyboard
| Matching Device ID: *pnp0303
| Service: i8042prt
|
+ HID Keyboard Device
| Vendor/Product ID: 0x046D, 0xC068
| Matching Device ID: hid_device_system_keyboard
| Service: kbdhid
|
+ HID Keyboard Device
| Vendor/Product ID: 0x1038, 0x1000
| Matching Device ID: hid_device_system_keyboard
| Service: kbdhid
|
+ Terminal Server Keyboard Driver
| Matching Device ID: root\rdp_kbd
| Upper Filters: kbdclass
| Service: TermDD
|
+ Logitech HID-compliant G Laser Mouse
| Vendor/Product ID: 0x046D, 0xC068
| Matching Device ID: hid\vid_046d&pid_c068&mi_00
| Upper Filters: LMouFilt
| Lower Filters: LHidFilt
| Service: mouhid
|
+ HID-compliant mouse
| Vendor/Product ID: 0x1038, 0x1000
| Matching Device ID: hid_device_system_mouse
| Service: mouhid
|
+ Terminal Server Mouse Driver
| Matching Device ID: root\rdp_mou
| Upper Filters: mouclass
| Service: TermDD

------------------------
Disk & DVD/CD-ROM Drives
------------------------
Drive: C:
Free Space: 623.8 GB
Total Space: 953.9 GB
File System: NTFS
Model: WDC WD10EADS-00M2B0 ATA Device

Drive: D:
Free Space: 86.2 GB
Total Space: 239.4 GB
File System: NTFS
Model: Maxtor 6B250S0 ATA Device

Drive: E:
Model: SONY CD-RW CRX320E ATA Device
Driver: c:\windows\system32\drivers\cdrom.sys, 6.01.7601.17514 (English), , 0 bytes
__________________

Holysnowva is offline  
Old 11-28-2011, 08:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Talyor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 336
Default Re: Game Performance (Hoping for help from smart people)

Ever try reinstalling Diablo 3
__________________

Talyor is offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 12:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Game Performance (Hoping for help from smart people)

what is your power supply unit model?
looking at your speedfan readings, I'd check into whatever is 127C. that is way too hot for any PC component.
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 12:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Game Performance (Hoping for help from smart people)

I'm thinking perhaps a BIOS update for your motherboard may be required given it doesn't recognise your CPU.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 09:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
Default Re: Game Performance (Hoping for help from smart people)

Hey Guys,

Thank you for the replies.

I have reinstalled the Diablo 3 beta client and it didn't help.

Also, the Super high temp is a bug with the software I used to test the temp, its not really that hot (On the softwares forums people say that "Temp3" is always hot)

My power supply is a "good" one and newish. I replaced it a little less than a year ago (I'll have to check the unit model at home tonight)

@Nitestick
I was thinking somthing with my Motherboard may be off as well (in my limited knoweledge).
It is an ASUS Mother Board (Coppied from my reciept: MB ASUS M3N WS AM2+ GF8200 RT)

How would I go about updating its BIOS? I did some poking around on ASUS's site and didn't see a way to do that. Any pointers?

Thank you again for the replies you guys!
Holysnowva is offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 04:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Default Re: Game Performance (Hoping for help from smart people)

Is this your motherboard?

http://usa.asus.com/Motherboards/AMD_AM2Plus/M3N78VM/

I
t's the only 8200 series GeForce mobo I could find on their site. If that's not the EXACT mobo you have or if you're unsure, dont download and install anything of course.
Luke_Vader is offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 11:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Game Performance (Hoping for help from smart people)

Holysnowva, if I have found your motherboard correctly on the Asus site it does appear there is a BIOS upgrade to add support for that CPU. ASUSTeK Computer Inc. - Server & Workstation- ASUS M3N WS

Confirm that this is the correct board, find your CPU in that list and download the BIOS (there's a link in the table next to the CPU model). There are instructions on the site, just read and follow them closely. Please note that there is some minor risk associated with doing this but it is minimal, I've only run into a couple of BIOS flash issues myself but I've lost count of how many I'm done (the more you do, the more likely you'll have a spot of bad luck of course). Worst case scenario is you destroy the BIOS entirely but you should be able to obtain a replacement chip, they just clip in and out of the motherboard. It's very unlikely you'll have issues but I thought it prudent to let you know there is some risk.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 11:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Worcestershire, England
Posts: 556
Send a message via MSN to Sheepykins
Default Re: Game Performance (Hoping for help from smart people)

I get the same problem, try lowering your resolution - it can do wonders!
Sheepykins is offline  
Old 12-01-2011, 06:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
Default Re: Game Performance (Hoping for help from smart people)

Hey Guys,

THanks again for all the replies, ive been crazy busy with work.

I plan on trying the BIOS update this weekend and with your info nitestick, I'll hopefully get it right!

I'll let you know how it goes!
__________________

Holysnowva is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Game for drunk people pushkar General Gaming 28 10-26-2006 10:50 AM
Remember...It's just a game people Martin Off Topic Discussion 8 09-13-2006 09:56 PM
Who said old people can't game. bonehelm General Gaming 20 07-16-2006 11:43 PM
Help Please You Smart People Lonewolf2006 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 07-13-2006 02:02 AM
All you Smart people wanna tell me about overclocking AMD6415 New Systems | Building and Buying 18 01-31-2006 07:17 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.