Game Graphics won't change - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-20-2013, 04:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Default Game Graphics won't change

Hey guys,

I'm new to this forum and have been looking around to find a solution to my problem but I couldn't find anything so I decided to post here. I recently just built my first computer and everything has been going good except when I go to play a video game like BF3 or Far Cry 3, when I go to change the graphics settings, they always look the same no matter what setting they're on. I've updated all my drivers to the current ones. I'm not sure what's causing the problem. I'll list my computers specs below.

Gigabyte GTX 680 2GB graphics card
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD4H LGA 1155 motherboard
Intel i7 3770 3.5GHz
8 GB RAM
256GB SSD
__________________

TheC0bbler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 04:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Pushing Daisies on Saturn
 
Yevrag35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: Game Graphics won't change

Have you tried changing the settings with the game in "windowed" mode instead of fullscreen?
__________________

__________________


Yevrag35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 04:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Default Re: Game Graphics won't change

I have tried that and it didn't seem to make a difference.
TheC0bbler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 02:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Murphyslaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chicago, il
Posts: 101
Default Re: Game Graphics won't change

what screen size and resolution do you run?
Murphyslaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 07:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Default Re: Game Graphics won't change

I'm running the resolution for the games at 1920x1080 and i have a 24" Dell 1080p monitor.
TheC0bbler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 08:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Murphyslaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chicago, il
Posts: 101
Default Re: Game Graphics won't change

I might have to ask a few stupid questions so just hold tight! :P

Are you sure that your settings are actually being applied when entered?
Are you running dual screens?
Are you Not having this issue with any games?

And for example, 800X600 looks the same as 1920X1080 in the settings?
Murphyslaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 12:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Default Re: Game Graphics won't change

Not a problem, I appreciate the help.

1. Yes I'm sure
2. I'm only running one screen
3. I'm pretty sure this is the case with all my games. On BF3 The only thing I notice that changes is shading.

Different resolutions do look different though.
TheC0bbler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 01:08 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Murphyslaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chicago, il
Posts: 101
Default Re: Game Graphics won't change

Go to your Nvidia control panel and make sure the performance settings are set to let the game control thevalues. If that didn't make scene, ill explain it in further detail if needed
Murphyslaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 01:58 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Default Re: Game Graphics won't change

I checked that and I think I made sure I'm letting the game change the settings. I'll double check that though.
TheC0bbler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 03:52 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Murphyslaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chicago, il
Posts: 101
Default Re: Game Graphics won't change

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheC0bbler View Post
I checked that and I think I made sure I'm letting the game change the settings. I'll double check that though.
If im not mistaken, its a rather long list! You might also want to max all the settings out, its worth a shot! It sounds like a driver bug but its hard to be sure. Who did you get the latest driver update for the video card from?
__________________

Murphyslaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.