Funny power supply - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2009, 07:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default Funny power supply

I recently bought a new HP Pavilion in a box at staples to replace my other aging computer. All was fine and dandy until I realized it only had an integrated video card...

So I opened it up and looked at what available slots it had, and I noticed a two PCI-E x1 and one PCI-E x16. So I went back up to Staples and looked at video cards for the PCI-E x16 slot, and ended up picking up a PNY GeForce 9400 GT 1024MB card. I came home, plugged it in and it didn't work... I did a little troubleshooting and determined my power supply wasn't adequate (I had a 250Watt). No problem, I figured I just needed to upgrade the power supply and I would be good to go. The VC required a minimum 300 watt supply.

I ordered a new supply online and I got it today (400 Watt). I carefully matched the new wires with the old wires to make sure everything matched. I even made sure it turned on before I screwed the PSU into the case. It worked perfectly.

I powered it down happy that it worked, took the old supply out and put the new one in. I powered it up again... it was fine. Then I powered down and unplugged everything to put my video card in. After making sure everything was plugged in nice and tight, I powered it back up with the new video card. It started up but no signal... I realized I forgot to plug the power cord from the VC to the mobo. I plugged it in and the restarted.

I got nothing. The computer turned on, then turned off and kept repeating this until I unplugged it.

So I removed the video card and tried powering up again. Nothing. All it did was start up for a second then switch off... it kept doing this until I unplugged it again.

So then I plugged in my old power supply, and it doesn't work either... it does the same thing.

I know my way around my computer pretty good, but I'm by no means an expert. Does anyone know what the problem may be here?
__________________

pro2a is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 07:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Funny power supply

Double check all your power cables. Did you disable the integrated video in your system bios. Have you tried resetting the bios?
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 07:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default Re: Funny power supply

Ya, I went into BIOS before hand and changed the primary video adapter thingy to PCI-E x16. I still need to get it to turn on first, I'm afraid I fried something. The video card is the least of my concerns, I just want it to turn back on
pro2a is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 08:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Funny power supply

First things first, remove all items to see if you get a beep code, everything except for the cpu, heatsink, and motherboard and psu, see if it powers up and stays stable, next put the RAM in, and keep going, there is atleast one part that can be causing it to do this. It can really be anything, also look around on the motherboard for any fried chips or pieces....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 08:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default Re: Funny power supply

I took everything out except what you said to leave in... it still starts and turns off. Nothing looks or smells burned. The power supply light stays on while it's doing all this.

edit: and I get no beep at all. I reset the BIOS too.
pro2a is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 09:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Funny power supply

Odd... Seems like the mobo could be shorting out to ground... Go ahead, and carefully remove everything from the case, make sure you are grounded at all times, even with the hummid air here in PA right now static can still be a pita. Once everything is removed, set it all up on a wooden surface and try to turn it on, that will rule out the motherboard or something shorting it out to the case...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 09:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default

I guess my concern would be, could my mobo be fried? I'm going to try what you said to do... but this computer is brand new and I'd be pretty POed if its shot already...

Well I got it to stay on... I took the whole **** thing apart down to the mobo and took it apart bit by bit and reassembled it bit by bit. Now the power it stays on!

... but I have no video.

Thats my next pickle.
pro2a is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 11:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Funny power supply

If shot, and it had no void stickers, piece it back together and get a replacement if you can. But the not having video may be the bios still sending video to the card... It is possible that card is bad and is causing issues.

What config do you have it in that it stays on? Complete stock? Or new PSU/GPU? Also what brand PSU????
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 06-16-2009, 03:45 AM   #9 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Funny power supply

Quote:
Originally Posted by pro2a View Post
I took everything out except what you said to leave in... it still starts and turns off. Nothing looks or smells burned. The power supply light stays on while it's doing all this.

edit: and I get no beep at all. I reset the BIOS too.
No beep at all is a bad PSU or MoBo.. I've learned thru experience.. Just make sure it has a speaker built in first.. LOL. .

One of my boards went out after I first installed my liquid cooling.. we blew the case out GOOD with an air compressor before starting it. I thought it was the PSU, but it was the board. I still don't know what happened.

Another thing, see if the board has a CI sensor.. Case Intrusion.. HP may use it for warranty reasons.. But if it were a CI issue, it wouldn't fire up at ALL after..
And the BIOS PDA Setting for PCI-E Slot 1 should be PEG, on Phoenix BIOS.


And all it takes is one little shock, drop of liquid or for the power cord to accidentally be connected to mess something up.. I accidentally fried a GB board I JUST GOT BACK from RMA when I did a CMOS reset wrong.. Talk about embarrassed and ashamed. That's why you don't mess with the rig when you're drunk.. lol..
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 01:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default Re: Funny power supply

Well I finally gave up and took it to the repair shop. I got the power to stay on, and I figured I got that far, I was gonna cut my losses and cash in with what I had. It was beyond my expertise at that point.
__________________

pro2a is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Power supply Guide (2008) Ste New Systems | Building and Buying 223 12-12-2009 09:05 PM
I want a new video card. Silverfury New Systems | Building and Buying 25 04-09-2008 01:05 AM
Dedicated power supply for a graphics card? wencke530 System Upgrades 13 02-23-2008 07:27 PM
Help with my PSU! weezerguy187 New Systems | Building and Buying 22 01-27-2008 04:58 PM
power supply question raverx3m New Systems | Building and Buying 13 07-24-2007 10:24 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.