Full Red Screen (Not RSoD) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2012, 05:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 18
Exclamation Full Red Screen (Not RSoD)

So I built my first computer for main use as a gaming PC.
I have had it built for about 2 or 3 weeks now and it runs great!
Only problem is once a few days after the build and just today I have had my whole screen go red and my sound for whatever is on atm distorts and just locks up and i have to turn my comp off or reset the comp. I had to do a startup repair today afterwards but everything's up and running, Also it happened both on the onboard graphics and on my GTX 680 so I don't think that's the issue. I heard that this can be the PSU and am stumped on what could be causing the issue. My RMA period ends in 3 days and I really need to figure out if I need to swap out or return anything!
Contacted ASUS tech support to see if it was Mobo they did'nt help at all, any help is greatly appreciated!!!
Any help is greatly appreciated!
Specs:::
Sabertooth z77 asus
3770k ivy intel with coolmaster after market cooler
4x4gb ripjaw
coolmaster 850w psu
gtx 680 asus
120 ssd
1t 3gbps drive
__________________

Viper0hr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 09:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Full Red Screen (Not RSoD)

I think your PSU is to blame. CoolerMaster is not rated as one that is good. While yes, it has the wattage you need, it may not have the amperage. Therefore it my not be constant power.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 11:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Full Red Screen (Not RSoD)

^Thats not correct, Coolmaster isn't top but its reliable.

I'd look into heat issues and/or memory problems.

Run furmark, prime95, and memtest86. Get Temperatures when running them.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 11:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Full Red Screen (Not RSoD)

I thought CoolerMaster was frowned upon, Hmm.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 12:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Full Red Screen (Not RSoD)

I have seen a bad video cable from the pc to the monitor turn a screen red/pink before too. Move it around while connected and see if anything changes to your screen view
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 01:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Full Red Screen (Not RSoD)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
I thought CoolerMaster was frowned upon, Hmm.
We frown on them because we are Elitists, they are perfectly fine for the price
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 06:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 18
Default Re: Full Red Screen (Not RSoD)

Maybe I should have reiterated. It's not the cable as I am using HDMi and have tried disconnecting and reconnecting during issue to try to resolve. the screen does not tint red it actually goes full red to where you cannot see anything and any audio gets distorted then stops. It's also not a heat issue, my room is a constant 25 C and my board has built in temp sensors and fans the whole thing case and board on average stays at 20-30 C CPU has never hit over 45C and my asus gtx 680 running max settings on BF3 does not go over 60C.
All 4 sticks of mem register and work fine, I really am stumped, and possibly screwed...
Viper0hr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 06:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Full Red Screen (Not RSoD)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Viper0hr View Post
All 4 sticks of mem register and work fine, I really am stumped, and possibly screwed...
Do what joe said, replace the cable and try vga and see what magic happens.
If it were indeed a rsod in windows which very rarely seen, something maybe internally wrong with your board or cpu.

Fact is, no error stop on screen means its cable problem.
-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 08:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 18
Default Re: Full Red Screen (Not RSoD)

I will try changing my cables when I get back home from work, like I said in the title and post though, it's not a RSoD because there is no error at all, and it has happened alltogether only 4 times now with everyday gaming and computer use over a period of almost a month. Since i am using an HDMi cable I can try to switch it or use my DVItoVGA to see if that fixes it, though I will most likely just get a better quality HDMI since I am using a free $8 one from newegg. I don't wana loose my HD Vid and Audio...
Viper0hr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 08:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Full Red Screen (Not RSoD)

I thought only the Playstation ever had a RSoD. To my knowledge, Windows only has a BSOD.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
YouTube: blank screen when I switch to ‘full screen’ donaldfleming Computer Audio and Multimedia 7 08-05-2011 04:32 PM
Red Screen mrnotu Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 05-28-2011 07:41 AM
Red Screen on First Boot aldernon New Systems | Building and Buying 1 04-09-2009 07:20 PM
Half Screen when in Full Screen Mode? __Camouflage__ Microsoft Windows and Software 1 11-17-2007 01:32 AM
One half of the screen red DoomUK Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 04-11-2005 06:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.