Fsb - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2008, 03:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 30
Default Fsb

I have a Phenom quad 9600. I'm confused because in the bios my CPU FSB is set at 200 MHZ. Is this correct?
__________________

Jayhwker01 is offline  
Old 07-28-2008, 03:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Fsb

i am not very amd savvy and i dont know too much about them, but i thought amd's used something called hypertransport instead of fsb.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 07-28-2008, 03:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 30
Default Re: Fsb

I believe they do use hypertransport. In the bios for some reason it states 200 MHZ. Maybe there is a formula I'm missing.
Jayhwker01 is offline  
Old 07-28-2008, 03:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Fsb

well on my mobo and cpu i can change the fsb up from 200mhz and that is multiplied by the multiplier and on my board that is 16. so 16x200=3.2ghz. thats how intel procesors work. but amd's are diffrent.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 07-28-2008, 03:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 30
Default Re: Fsb

Thanks for your help. Maybe someone with an AMD will chirp in. Nice car by the way. i recently bought a 2002 z06.
Jayhwker01 is offline  
Old 07-28-2008, 03:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Fsb

really what color? my mom and step dad have a 2003 Z06 and my dad just bought a 2005 Z51 (still a base model though)
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 07-28-2008, 03:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 30
Default Re: Fsb

It is red. Has around 60 thousand miles on it but it's in perfect condition. I love how they hug the road. IS the 2005 base faster than the 2003 zo6?

I might have figured out this FSB thing for my AMD
13 multiplier X 200 = 2600 MHZ which is what a 9600 is.
Jayhwker01 is offline  
Old 07-28-2008, 04:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Fsb

well the 03 z06 (both cars bone stock) is a hare faster around the track because of the little better tires that gm puts on them. but from my opnion i would have to say you really can feel the g's better in the 03 z06. but my dads 05 is probly faster because he has long tube headers x pype and a corsa exaust as well as a ram air intake. the z06 is stock excecpt for a diablo tune.

ohh and as for your amd that sounds rite
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 07-28-2008, 04:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 30
Default Re: Fsb

I couldnt imagine owning a brand new z06. 400 HP is enough for me. I bet your pops corvette sounds pretty mean. Last Friday I raced a 1996 Ferrari 355? Anyways I beat it by a car length.

Ya I'm finding more information about this FSB thing as we speak (from different website).
Jayhwker01 is offline  
Old 07-28-2008, 04:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Fsb

it is very loud under load but just idleing or highway crusing it's pretty quiet. i couldnt imagine owning a 2009 ZR1 with 600+hp and 600+ torque. i bet it eats through tyres pretty quick.

also some more sys specs would be great
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fsb question robina_80 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 07-03-2008 07:00 PM
Always wondered VampD New Systems | Building and Buying 8 05-20-2008 12:45 AM
April 20 Price Drop? dhgunit New Systems | Building and Buying 45 04-23-2008 08:04 PM
Noob question regarding FSB speeds. manowar Overclocking and Modding 10 12-26-2007 06:35 PM
Mainboard FSB, help. HELPMEPLZ New Systems | Building and Buying 14 09-16-2007 04:05 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.