Front sound port cable too short! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2006, 08:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Angry Front sound port cable too short!

I've got a DFI Lanparty UT-D mobo, and I put the little onboard sound clip-on thing on it, and it was all fine until I tried to hook up the front audio plugs to it. The cable is way too short. Even when the CPU wasn't installed, it was still too short, and is now even shorter.

Here are some photos of the cable I need to connect:



And one of the place I need to connect it to:



Does anyone know if I could get an extension cable or something for this. Or if a PCI soundcard will let you attach that cable to it, since I'm pretty certain it could reach to a PCI card.

Thanks in advance.
__________________

cyrax is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 08:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 109
Default

unlicvky mate-i had a problem that my power led was three pins wide, but the mobo only accepted 2. So i had to use the hdled for the pled. Use your imgaination
__________________

neilnpatel is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 10:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Yeah, but at least your cable actually reached the place it was supposed to go into. The place where these cables have to plug into is all the way from the front of the case to the very back.
cyrax is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 11:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

splicing wires isn't terribly hard.....theres your solution, just extend the wires :/
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 12:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
splicing wires isn't terribly hard.....theres your solution, just extend the wires :/
Can you please explain? I'm not really savvy when it comes to electrical wires and such. The closest I've come to using wires is when I make a couple LAN cables.
cyrax is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 01:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

just get some wires strip maybe 1cm of insulation at the most from each end, cut the sound cable and strip each side of that in the same manner. take the seperate wires and attach them to each half of the audio cable (obviously matching each half) by twisting the bare wires into each other. make sure all the stripped wires are insulated from each other so they don't short out
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 05:12 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

So all I need is a sound cable to extend it? What exactly do I have to look out for though?
__________________

cyrax is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.