Front panel header noob question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2007, 03:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
Default Front panel header noob question

The case that I have supplies the following connections from the front panel:
HD LED
Power SW
Reset SW
Speaker
+ / -

Is there supposed to be a Power LED somewhere in that mix?

I tried the search function but it omitted "LED" so now I'm asking. Thanks.

Also- do brass standoffs prevent short circuiting the MB with the case? Brass is a good conductor and I was wondering if you could advise.

Thanks.
__________________

dwu182 is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 04:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: Front panel header noob question

It doesn't really matter what the standoffs are made of because they are not touching any electrical component. The standoff holes are isolated from the circuitry of the board.

Are there 2 LEDs on the front panel? One for the HDD indicator and one for PWR. If theres just one then theres your answer.
__________________

__________________
Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
www.rapidts.com
QuaziBee is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 04:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
Default Re: Front panel header noob question

there are 2 LEDs but only 1 LED connection.

thanks for the standoff info
dwu182 is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 07:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: Front panel header noob question

On some mobos there is a separate header for the Power Led Do you have a Mobo Book?
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 12:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
Default Re: Front panel header noob question

i took off the front panel and traced the power LED wires to two wires, one labeled '' + '' and one labeled '' - ''
dwu182 is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 01:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Front panel header noob question

those are the power led wires
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Noob Question waytoosmall Computer Audio and Multimedia 7 04-23-2007 07:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.