fried mobo? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2006, 07:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Default fried mobo?

System Specs:

Athlon 64 3200+
GA-KVNXP Gigabyte MOBO
(2) 1gb Crucial PC3200 ram sticks
ATI Radeon 9600xt
Creative Labs Soundblaster 5.1
(2) 37gb raptor hard drives set to raid0
(1) WD 80gb hard drive
DVD burner
CD drive
floppy
Enermax 470w ps
XP Pro sp2

Ok, so I was having some issues with the RAM overheating awhile ago and the system would only be stable with a single stick in the first slot. So I bought a new A64 cooler arctic freezer fan and 3 RAM heatsinks for the extra memory that I hadn't been using (RAM Iceberg DDR).

After installing the new arctic freezer and the ram heatsinks my computer would start but none of the lights on the case front would come on and the mouse wouldn't respond and the monitor wouldn't register a video signal. All I get on the monitor is a message saying "monitor in power save mode. activate using PC".

So I went back to one stick of memory. same problem. I unistalled the arctic freezer and reinstalled the stock cpu fan with one stick of memory. same problem.

Did I fry my motherboard or does someone have any ideas on what the heck is going on?

Any help/suggestions/ideas would be most appreciated!
__________________

slmettler is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 09:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Are all the fan's on?? Are there any post beeps? have you tryed resetting the cmos? (battery/jumper) Reseat the cpu make sure you didn't pull to hard if the stock hsf was stuck to it. If none of the above work i would say the board's toast. I like gigabyte alot but I guess even they have the odd problem. by the way it was telling you awhile ago there was something wrong when it wouldn't boot with two sticks of ram.
__________________

__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 10:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Default fried mobo?

yes, the fans are on, but i'm not getting any post beeps. how do you reset the CMOS?

I figured the mobo had issues because of the ram, but another poster told me to see if cooling down the ram would help. i have read that some mobos can be touchy with ram.


I'll try those other ideas of yours. thanks for the speedy reply!
slmettler is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 11:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 154
Default

FRIED FRIED!!!
fuz_master is offline  
Old 05-17-2006, 01:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Have you tried other RAM?
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 05-17-2006, 10:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Default fried mobo?

i have tried other ram. same issues.
slmettler is offline  
Old 05-17-2006, 10:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

To clear the CMOS, take the little silver disk-battery on the motherboard out for about 10 minutes, pop it back, and all should be okay! Yeah, agree with Flashdude, make sure the CPU is correctly seated. Is the standby LED lit on the motherboard?
__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 05-17-2006, 10:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Thumbs down guess its dead

ok, so I guess the mobo is toast. I've tried everything i can think of. perhaps its ok... i wanted to upgrade to an SLI board soon anyways...

one question for you guys. all of my stuff is on the raptor hd's, including operating system. i use the 80 gb wd hd for extra stuff, music, etc..

can i just plug in my hard drives to the new mobo and go from there or do i need to reinstall XP?? if i need to reinstall xp, what do you guys typically do when you are switching out mobos? i mean, what and how do you transfer all of your data on the hd's?
slmettler is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 03:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Because of the chipset drivers that are installed on that hdd, and bootsector changes it will not boot with a new motherboard, You "MAY" get the option to just reinstall when you try to boot it, but not always!! Even If you manage to get it reinstalled over the current install you will still need to activate the copy of xp again anyway so why not just format it and do a fresh install, You will be way better off. (nothing like a fresh install to bring a smile to your face) When I install a new motherboard I always do a fresh install!!
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 04:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Default

thanks, Flashdude, for the info. So what's the easiest way to get all of my data off of the raptors so that I can do a clean install? Do you guys all have second computers that you transfer stuff to? I'm not sure if my question is making sense...
__________________

slmettler is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.