Frequent Stop Errors, been told it is hardware related - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-14-2006, 07:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Default Frequent Stop Errors, been told it is hardware related

Been getting frequent Stop: 0x0000008E errors. Very frustrating. So far I have tried testing the RAM, so either both sticks are screwed or it's something else. I recently installed a new sound card, but it'd been running fine for a few weeks before this started. I've disabled it just to see what happens. I've updated other drivers like video card and even LAN. Here's a minidump file, just in case anyone knows what to do with it.
Attached Files
File Type: zip mini081406-01.zip (40.4 KB, 6 views)
__________________

addle_brains is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 08:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

it sounds like its hardware related but that error isn't exclusive to hardwre problems so don't rule anything out. I've seen viruses cause that stop error.

Does the error happen when you do anything in particular? or is it totally random? can you reproduce the error by doing any particular set of actions?
__________________

__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 08:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Default

It's completely random, and it seems to be happening more frequently, but I can't really tell. It recently happened again, even though my SB Audigy was uninstalled, so I don't think it's that. My fans are running as loud as a vacuum cleaner though, and this program I got says my CPU is at 35 degrees celsius. May be faulty power or heatsink. Do you know what virus it might be?
addle_brains is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 03:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

Are you running Mcafee antivirus?

looks like one of the drivers is spooning. Try uninstaling mcafee.

Post some more dump files if you can, also might be worth your while running a program called memtest86.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 01:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Default

Yeah, I'm running Mcaffee... I'll uninstall it and see what happens.

How hot would you consider an unstable CPU? We're talking an intel celeron 2.8GHz.
addle_brains is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 01:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Default

Here's a new minidump.
Attached Files
File Type: zip mini081506-01.zip (49.3 KB, 1 views)
addle_brains is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 02:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Default

And another
Attached Files
File Type: zip mini081506-02.zip (45.5 KB, 1 views)
addle_brains is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 02:24 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Default

Sorry for the quadruple post, but I read something that Starforce can actually be causing the system crashes. I used verifier and found out that I have Starforce drivers installed on my computer.
addle_brains is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 08:06 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

35C is is prefectly fine, quite cool infact. I can't look at those minidumps untill I get home.
I'm almost certain we're looking at a driver issue here, in the first dump it was a mcafee driver that caused the crash but I think its unlikely to be mcafees fault. I expect to see other drivers causing crashes in the other dumps, I expect there is a rogue driver somewhere causing these problems.

I'm not sure starforce is the culprit, starforce drivers are active only at execution of the protected application, so that doesn't fit in with completely random crashes unless its a background application like antivirus. Speaking of which have you tried loading in safe mode? do you still get the crashes then?
you can uninstall them here or you might be able to update them? I think if you remove them any software you own thet uses starforce for protection will not launch.

I still recommend you run memtest86 to rule out a hardware fault with the ram. you can get it a majorgeeks.com
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 09:34 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Default

I've run memtest, and there's nothing wrong. I was at my wits end when suddenly I found this microsoft page that recomended turning off the video hardware acceleration. I did so, and it's been quite a while since the last crash..... they've been happening about once every half hour, but a couple of hours on and nothing. So I'm 99% sure it's the GPU. Hopefully it's just the drivers because I'm downloading the latest ones now. I read that it could be the RAM in the GPU, but i hope not.

Thanks so much for your help, I'll keep you posted whether or not I get it fixed.
__________________

addle_brains is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.