freezing when it wants - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-06-2006, 12:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 122
Send a message via AIM to bubba0315 Send a message via Yahoo to bubba0315
Default freezing when it wants

Yeah, thats it... My computer (in sig) freezes whenever I play games. Its not overheating because I downloaded SpeedFan and I'm running at 24C. I reformatted, deleted the partition yet its still happening. I don't know what to do... Help?
__________________

bubba0315 is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 01:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Look at your graphic card. See if it is seated properlly but just to be sure reseat it.
Then look at the fan, see if it is spiining on the card
Look at your northbridge fan/heatsink as well and see if it is working or seated properly.

get a all around app that checks all temp's on pc like mobo monitor
__________________

player98198 is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 04:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 122
Send a message via AIM to bubba0315 Send a message via Yahoo to bubba0315
Default

I know its not my grapics card because I switched to onboard graphics and it would still freeze. CPU heatsink is running fine... Where can I find a better temp app?
bubba0315 is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 09:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 122
Send a message via AIM to bubba0315 Send a message via Yahoo to bubba0315
Default

Help...
bubba0315 is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 05:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 200
Default

Reseat your RAM and Video card if you havnt already done so. Also, check that there are no burst capacitors on the motherboard (The things that look like little wee silo's.

The fact that the problem is still there after a fresh format, would lead me towards hardware failure. It could be a number of things causing the problem, motherboard, RAM, video card, CPU.

When did it start freezing? Have you added any extra PCI cards or done anything inside the case lately? Any power outtages?
imation is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 05:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 122
Send a message via AIM to bubba0315 Send a message via Yahoo to bubba0315
Default

Sorry for the late reply, I never saw another post...

I think it is the HD, personally. When I would start up games, there would be a squeeling noise coming from my tower.

How do I reset Video card and memory? EDIT: NVM, reseat... My bad... I'll do that with my ram, I already did with my video card.

It started freezing so that everything was stuck except for my mouse. But after two reformats it will freeze totally where I have to restart my PC. It only happens when I'm playing games or one time when I was loading music from a CD onto iTunes, talking on AIM, and browsing the internet.

After it froze I adjusted card placements so that the video card got as much cool air as possible. I put the ethernet card next to it because it was shortest hopefully reducing it to heatup.

I was told to find a better temperature program, where can I find one of those?

Thanks
bubba0315 is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 08:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 122
Send a message via AIM to bubba0315 Send a message via Yahoo to bubba0315
Default

Sorry for double post but I was talking to my dad via email and he told me to find out if my mobo is compatible with a 2.8 or higher cpu without a BIOS upgrade.

I plan on getting this HD (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822135106) and eventually this cpu (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116198). The thing is... I am lost when I try to figure out if things are compatible. My dad also said that he thinks it is the memory or mobo.

Please just give me some opinions and some easy, less expensive alternatives to try before I buy all the new parts.

Thanks
bubba0315 is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 10:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 122
Send a message via AIM to bubba0315 Send a message via Yahoo to bubba0315
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bubba0315
Help...
bubba0315 is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 10:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 122
Send a message via AIM to bubba0315 Send a message via Yahoo to bubba0315
Default

Please Help?
__________________

bubba0315 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.