Freezing up in Bios? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-13-2007, 05:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston
Posts: 5
Default Freezing up in Bios?

Hi all ,
Last week my computer started to freez up on me right after windows boot. Then it froze in the Bios screen. I replaced the memory and the video card and it still does it. Any clue? cuz i dont.


Here is my system

Asus P4p800-E Deluxe MB
P4 3.2/With Zalman Fatal1ty cooler. Was OC@3.5 now is not
BFG 6800Gt agp/With Artic Cooler. was OC now is not
Maxtor SATA 200g HD
Windows XP pro
Hauppauge pvr150
Ultra 500w Xconnect PS
Ultra case with 3-120mm fans,1-80mm fan, and ultra fan controler.

I know its old but its paid for.


Thanks for any help, "D"
__________________

dgibby12 is offline  
Old 09-13-2007, 07:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Freezing up in Bios?

sound like bad hardware. try removing everything in the pci slots. then try the hdd
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 04:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston
Posts: 5
Default Re: Freezing up in Bios?

HI thanks for the reply

OK I took out the one pci card i had in that didnt work. Today when it froze it lost video signal and then rebooted itself. All my temps are fine CPU 36c, Mb 26c, Hd 26c. Voltage looks ok to me, Vcore 1.47, 3.3@3.12, 5@5.12, 12@11.96. After it booted itself it lost video signal and didnt reboot untill I booted it.

thanks again
dgibby12 is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 05:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston
Posts: 5
Default Re: Freezing up in Bios?

Hi ,

Now I just disconnected my HDD and let it sit on the Bios screen.
It froze in the bios screen. Someone pleeeeease HELP Im going crazy.
dgibby12 is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 02:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston
Posts: 5
Default Re: Freezing up in Bios?

Hi to all,


Ok my last attempt was the cpu. I pulled out my 3.2 and put it into my wifes computer and it seems to be ok (Im on it now). So its not the cpu.
The only thing I thnk it could be is the motherboard or the power supply.
Should I spend the money on this. lately I only use it to play BF2 once in a great while and surf the net.

thanks for any help
Attached Images
File Type: jpg P1010038.JPG (27.8 KB, 20 views)
dgibby12 is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 11:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston
Posts: 5
Default Re: Freezing up in Bios?

hHi,

Ok I found the same mobo on ebay. Gonna try that, let u know.
__________________

dgibby12 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Toshiba Satellite a215-s4757 bios help Sargon Laptops and Notebooks 4 02-05-2009 01:40 AM
Best way to update BIOS? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 03:15 PM
BIOS chip on my motherboard ArchisT New Systems | Building and Buying 3 07-29-2007 04:42 PM
Simple Laptop BIOS MonkeyBusiness Overclocking and Modding 4 06-16-2007 02:49 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.