Freezing for no Fing reason!!! - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2008, 08:00 PM   #21 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 129
Default Re: Freezing for no Fing reason!!!

well this just started happening about a week or 2 b4 i posted this thread... idk like i said i was concered at first about the age of the card but it seems to have no problems after it crashes (no more than twice) games run fine no jitter or dropped frames just smooth gameplay...
__________________

Looby is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 08:02 PM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: Freezing for no Fing reason!!!

i doubt it if its not making any funky beeps i doubt it'd be the graphics card. if there was something with the graphics card there would be some sort of beeping when he turns it on so there would be a way to diagnose it as to how many beeps.

It could be that the graphics card is just starting to crap out on him. I have an old dell where the graphics card is getting so bad off that the screen is so dark and when i open internet there no graphics on it.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 08:02 PM   #23 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Typhoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Posts: 74
Send a message via MSN to Typhoon
Default Re: Freezing for no Fing reason!!!

I forgot what games you are trying to play, but are they steam based?
__________________
Www.iTyphoon.org
Typhoon is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 08:14 PM   #24 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: Freezing for no Fing reason!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Looby View Post
i have tried carbon, FFXI, half life 1 and 2, an old game called septerra core(you have probably never heard of it)....

all of which computer can handle no problem..


overheating... im pretty sure its not doing that i have a (albeit ******) water cooling system and the temps never go high. also running a program called speedfan to monitor that...
He is trying some steam games.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 08:18 PM   #25 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 129
Default Re: Freezing for no Fing reason!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Looby View Post
i can put all the games on 640x480 on low and still crashes.

pc crashes playing this

allgame ((( Septerra Core: Legacy of the Creator [2005] > System Requirements )))

release date is WAY WRONG but just check the specs...

PC REQUIREMENTS
350MHz Processor
64MB RAM
300MB Hard Disk Space
8MB 3D Video Card
DirectX compatible Sound Card
DirectX 8.0
4X CD-ROM Drive
Keyboard
Mouse
^
| i cant play that without crashing...

FFXI, FEAR, Prey, Fable, Carbon, R.O.N., Grim Fandango, Curse of Monkey Island, Descent 3/Freespace... etc.. (sorry just got on a roll)

i do play half-life 1&2, they are steam based but since all my games are not i cant believe that affects them...
Looby is offline  
Old 01-31-2008, 11:09 PM   #26 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Freezing for no Fing reason!!!

have you tried a good ol' reformat
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 12:46 AM   #27 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 129
Default Re: Freezing for no Fing reason!!!

but it does nothing else wrong!!! i REALLY hate that whole process i have xp from like 2001-2002 so the update process takes a freaking week...

i ran all the tests and nothing is wrong... idk i just got it running and working the way i want i hate to mess it all up again...

no other opinions......... i REALLY and i mean REALY dont want to format this thing
Looby is offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 05:44 AM   #28 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Freezing for no Fing reason!!!

system restore to day 1?
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 12:47 PM   #29 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 129
Default Re: Freezing for no Fing reason!!!

lol your trying to bust my balls aren't you?... jk there has GOT to be a better way... i will reformat if a have to but im at least waiting another week b4 i do
Looby is offline  
Old 02-04-2008, 10:37 PM   #30 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Freezing for no Fing reason!!!

just back up what you need then go for a reformat

or if you have any other hard drives, save what you need to them.. then reformat what you got

or even partition the one you have
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My computer gets to the xp loading screen and restarts. tivaelydoc Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 10-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.