Freezing for no Fing reason!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-27-2008, 12:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 129
Default Freezing for no Fing reason!!!

hey guys i hope to god you can help me im ready to take my pc out in the yard and put it out of MY misery!!!@

k... computer randomly freezes. i cant do anything not ctl+atl+del not atl+tab nothing... only happens in games(i think thats the only time i notice it) and it only happens like the first or second time i run the game like i boot up and run awesome game #1 well i get into the game about 5 mins then.......... nothing i realize nothing is happening so off goes the power and reboot. this might happen twice then no problem but never more than twice that i can remember. like i said only happens in games(games are all legit aswell just incase you where thinking bad\hacked games) happens on any game i have not just one in perticular. plz help me im loosing my mind...!!!

have run:

avg spyware = nothing
avg rootkit = nothing
norton anti virus scan = nothing
norton one button thingy = nothing
hijackthis = nothing


specs

ASUS P4S800D-X
Intel P4 Prescott 3.0E
2GB Corsair XMS pc3200
ATI Radeon 9600XT
250GB WD HDD (system)
500GB WD HDD (other)
650WATT BFG PSU
2x LG dvd burners
__________________

Looby is offline  
Old 01-27-2008, 12:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: Freezing for no Fing reason!!!

what games are you trying to run? your specs may not be up to the job for them.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 01-27-2008, 12:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Freezing for no Fing reason!!!

overheating.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 01-27-2008, 12:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 129
Default Re: Freezing for no Fing reason!!!

i have tried carbon, FFXI, half life 1 and 2, an old game called septerra core(you have probably never heard of it)....

all of which computer can handle no problem..


overheating... im pretty sure its not doing that i have a (albeit ******) water cooling system and the temps never go high. also running a program called speedfan to monitor that...
Looby is offline  
Old 01-27-2008, 05:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: Freezing for no Fing reason!!!

can you get in game and change the settings? if you can get in and put everything on low settings
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 01-27-2008, 06:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 129
Default Re: Freezing for no Fing reason!!!

i can put all the games on 640x480 on low and still crashes.

computer never goes above 120f which is WELL within the heat tolerance on a prescott...

pc crashes playing this

allgame ((( Septerra Core: Legacy of the Creator [2005] > System Requirements )))

release date is WAY WRONG but just check the specs...

PC REQUIREMENTS
350MHz Processor
64MB RAM
300MB Hard Disk Space
8MB 3D Video Card
DirectX compatible Sound Card
DirectX 8.0
4X CD-ROM Drive
Keyboard
Mouse

i ran some kind of video card endurance/benchmark tester (cant remember the name right now ill look later and edit post) and i only let it run 30mins but temps stayed below 114f and NO problems. benchmark was like 480fps
Looby is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 11:36 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 129
Default Re: Freezing for no Fing reason!!!

k cleaned the radiator and flushed the system (just to be safe) but still nothing so im pretty sure its not overheating...

now i have been thinking do you think that my graphics card could be going? i have had it for........ i believe 5-6 years... maybe less i cant remember when i got it.... i have never had a problem with it. it runs games it shouldnt be able too its a beast and i love it but do you think it might be reaching the end of its life?
Looby is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 12:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Freezing for no Fing reason!!!

It might be your Cpu, Ram or Psu

Try running Prime95

Prime95 - 24.14 Download - EXTREME Overclocking

and Memtest

MemTest for Windows Download Page
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 12:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default Re: Freezing for no Fing reason!!!

reinstall video drivers, try a diff psu
__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 01:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Freezing for no Fing reason!!!

Do you have anything overclocked? I was getting random lockups when i first put the rig back together 2 weeks ago, but i had my memory settings jacked up.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My computer gets to the xp loading screen and restarts. tivaelydoc Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 10-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.