freakin computer lag ( not internet either) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-27-2007, 01:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Angry freakin computer lag ( not internet either)

I just reinstalled Windows as usual everything went without a hitch, but this time i added something new to the hardware list (an internal PCI wireless card), this works as well (dont know if this helps).

My problem is when I start doing anything with music (any sound for that matter) running in the background it starts lagging (almost skipping). This includes my games (without music but, in game its the whole game).

Right now i'm getting very frustrated over this as its never happened before. I'm also running my ONE (internal) HD off of a PCI Hard drive controller (Abit Hotrod 100), as well as having installed the SP2 update for windows. Any help would be very appreciated as its hendering my gaming (and windows usage) badly.


*UPDATE* -- I've noticed it does this when opening a webpage in FireFox as well sometimes)
__________________

__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 01-27-2007, 01:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

What are your system specs? Is it onboard audio?
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 01-27-2007, 02:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

Opteron 144 (@stock as it seemed to messing with my wireless card)
1GB Kingston Hyper X RAM
GA-K8U-939 Gigabyte Motherboard
AC97 onboard (did have an Audigy 2 and it still lagged)
80GB Seagate IDE on a PCI Abit Hotrod 100 controller)
DVD and CD-RW on onboard IDE controller
430W ThermalTake PSU
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 01-27-2007, 03:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

i fixed it, I switched to a backup computer that will sute my needs untill i do a complete system over hall this summer, thx for the help anyways
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.