Fram rate issue - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2006, 11:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to Summoner10
Default Frame rate issue

For the past few weeks I've had a fps (frames per second) problem while playing games. Ill log into Half-life 1 counter-strike or something and my FPS starts out between 60-70. After ten or so minutes it'll start to drop down into the 30's than the 10's soon after. These aren't graphically heavy games and they are games I've been playing on this same system for over a year. I haven't upgraded any hardware or changed anything recently. This problem just started for no apparant reason.

What can be done to fix this?

P.S: I already tried to download the latest drivers for my v-card. It didn't fix the problem.
__________________

Summoner10 is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 12:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

your video card is probably overheating, check the temps
__________________

__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 12:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to Summoner10
Default

How do I do that?
Summoner10 is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 11:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to Summoner10
Default

TTT
Summoner10 is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 01:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

sorry i didnt check this post. right click on ur desktop - properties - settings - advanced - click on ur graphics card tab - temps
__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 05:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

or download the sexy lil thang called everest home edition
Static_11 is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 10:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to Summoner10
Default

Ok, I downloaded Everest and it gives my CPU a temp of 43-44. Good, bad???
Summoner10 is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 12:24 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 35
Default

Your CPU temp, or the GPU? That's a normal temperature for both, but it would be good to know. My only other thoughts are that there could possibly be a memory leak? However, I've never heard of any memory leaks with HL or HL2.
__________________

silentex is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.