FPS isn't what it should be. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-19-2007, 08:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 609
Default FPS isn't what it should be.

Ok, brand new comp heres specs,

Intel Core 2 DUO 6420, 2.13GHz 4mb Cache
2048 Corsair Twin-X or w/e it is...
Intel Board
250gb Hitachi SATA300 7200rpm
500watt Thermaltake PSU
512mb nVidia Geforce 8500GT 512mb

Now heres the thing, I had a much crappier comp then this before with just a 6600gt, 1gb of ram, etc etc,,, and I could run FEAR on like ULTRA, on this comp (my new one) on low, im only getting like 19 FPS,,,, and on FarCry im getting like 20-40 and on Guild Wars its like capped @ 30 won't go past it.... Same with Doom 3,,, even 3DMARK05,,, I don't know what the problem could be,,, my computer in general seems super quick,,, and the video card is nice.... But something is wrong, I mean evern with everything turned down I'm still getting very low FPS

My direct x version is 9.0c


Any ideas or tips would be great,,

Also my CPU seems to be running really hot like 60c.... my room is on fire... is this normal?
__________________

__________________

•AMD 8120 @ 3.8Ghz
•CoolerMaster Hyper212 EVO
•MSI 970A G46
•8GB Dual-Channel 1600Mhz DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
•eVGA 660 GTX Ti
•128gb Samsung 830 SSD (OS, Games)
•2TB Seagate 7200rpm 64mb Barracuda SATA6GB's
•640gb WD (Cavier Blue)
•CoolerMaster HAF-X
AuThoRitY is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 08:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
sadisticmidget's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 93
Default Re: FPS isn't what it should be.

What is the Mobo? "Intel Board" isn't much info...model number would be helpful.
__________________

__________________
Intel Pentium D @ 3.4ghz
Kingston 512 x 4 DDR2 RAM
Nvidia 7900 GT KO
200gb SATA
sadisticmidget is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 08:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: FPS isn't what it should be.

intel usually offers nifty bios updates for their boards, and in super easy win app form...no floppy silliness

could have been your old system dialed down some settings in the gpu while your new system has all the dx functions turned on....tweak that first maybe?
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 09:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,666
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: FPS isn't what it should be.

U could try defragging ur hdd, that can sometimes reslove fps issues. Tho like the other guys said, whats your mobo?
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 10:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 609
Default Re: FPS isn't what it should be.

ok my board is the

"INTEL DP965LT"

Classic Series
__________________

•AMD 8120 @ 3.8Ghz
•CoolerMaster Hyper212 EVO
•MSI 970A G46
•8GB Dual-Channel 1600Mhz DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
•eVGA 660 GTX Ti
•128gb Samsung 830 SSD (OS, Games)
•2TB Seagate 7200rpm 64mb Barracuda SATA6GB's
•640gb WD (Cavier Blue)
•CoolerMaster HAF-X
AuThoRitY is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 10:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 609
Default Re: FPS isn't what it should be.

and how do i tweak the dx ?? settings on my gpu?
__________________

•AMD 8120 @ 3.8Ghz
•CoolerMaster Hyper212 EVO
•MSI 970A G46
•8GB Dual-Channel 1600Mhz DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
•eVGA 660 GTX Ti
•128gb Samsung 830 SSD (OS, Games)
•2TB Seagate 7200rpm 64mb Barracuda SATA6GB's
•640gb WD (Cavier Blue)
•CoolerMaster HAF-X
AuThoRitY is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 11:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 609
Default Re: FPS isn't what it should be.

i have the latest bios software and.... i just defragged,,,
__________________

•AMD 8120 @ 3.8Ghz
•CoolerMaster Hyper212 EVO
•MSI 970A G46
•8GB Dual-Channel 1600Mhz DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
•eVGA 660 GTX Ti
•128gb Samsung 830 SSD (OS, Games)
•2TB Seagate 7200rpm 64mb Barracuda SATA6GB's
•640gb WD (Cavier Blue)
•CoolerMaster HAF-X
AuThoRitY is offline  
Old 07-20-2007, 04:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: FPS isn't what it should be.

not sure what else you may have running on your system...background apps/functions...

what are your game settings at for each of the mentioned games?
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 07-20-2007, 07:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 609
Default Re: FPS isn't what it should be.

found out what it was,,, v-sync lol,, but my fps is till kind of low with it off.
__________________

__________________

•AMD 8120 @ 3.8Ghz
•CoolerMaster Hyper212 EVO
•MSI 970A G46
•8GB Dual-Channel 1600Mhz DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
•eVGA 660 GTX Ti
•128gb Samsung 830 SSD (OS, Games)
•2TB Seagate 7200rpm 64mb Barracuda SATA6GB's
•640gb WD (Cavier Blue)
•CoolerMaster HAF-X
AuThoRitY is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.