Foxconn A7DA-S Raid problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-13-2008, 07:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 13
Exclamation Foxconn A7DA-S Raid problem

Mobo - Foxconn A7DA-S
Bios - 879F1P04
2x WD 500gb sata 3g hard drives
1x LG BluRay/HD sata drive

I know this is a new motherboard but I cant find any info anywhere else on this problem so I am just hoping someone here can enlighten me.

I followed the instructions and set up my RAID 0 Array. It was very easy. Formatted etc... Then I reboot. Everything normal I have my Vista disk in ready to install. The RAID Option ROM v 3.0.1540.30 comes up as expected saying detecting drives, detects my RAID, lists the proper size and under status it says FUNCTIONAL with the _ (cursor thingy) blinking as if its thinking. I wait, and wait and wait AND IT JUST SITS THERE. I try restarting, same thing. I try hitting delete to go to bios so it opens the boot up details text (displays what is loading as it should) but before it can go in bios it has to get past the RAID Option ROM which again just sits there (No... pressing any key doesnt do anything - in fact I tried every key including ctrl-F). I took the vista dvd out - no change. I unplug the DVD drive all together - no change. I have set up many RAIDs before on Nvidia motherboards before with NVRaid and Silicon Image. I HAVE NEVER HAD TO GO THROUGH THOSE UTILITIES TO GET TO BIOS! I HAVE TO UNPLUG MY HARD DRIVES JUST TO GET TO BIOS! I DONT EVEN KNOW HOW TO DELETE THE ARRAY IF I WANTED TO. There must be something I'm missing because with nvraid and silicon image I could always press f3 or something while it was loading to edit the configurations. With this I can only edit the RAID config by pressing ctrl-f if I have RAID enabled and there are no arrays detected. What if I had a working array and wanted to add another hw raid? I am so lost. I put an inquiry into foxconn but they take a long while to ever get back to me and they are not very helpful anyways.

I know this is a long shot but crossing my fingers very tightly.
__________________

ecaffeine is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 07:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: Foxconn A7DA-S Raid problem

Do you have the boot order set to boot from DVD first?
__________________

KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 07:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 13
Default Re: Foxconn A7DA-S Raid problem

Thanks for the quick reply

Yes I know for a fact that I do, but thats not the issue. If I didn't it should come up with an error saying no system disk. And if wanted to change the boot order I should be able to go into the BIOS and adjust the order. It does not give me ntldr error and I CANNOT GET INTO BIOS WITH THE DRIVES PLUGGED IN AND RAID ENABLED EVEN THOUGH THERE ARE NO MOBO ERROR BEEPS OR ERRORS DISPLAYED ON SCREEN.
ecaffeine is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 08:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: Foxconn A7DA-S Raid problem

In most cases you'll have to supply a raid driver. This may help.

Legit Reviews - How To Install Windows Vista Ultimate With RAID - Setting Up Vista Ultimate on a RAID Array


Are you able to boot to DVD at all?
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 08:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 13
Default Re: Foxconn A7DA-S Raid problem

Thanks for you guys' help but you are really not understanding the problem. I have set up many RAIDs before. I have the vista x64 raid drivers on a flash drive ready but I cannot get past the RAID manager to boot from ANYTHING. CANT EVEN GET TO BIOS. OBVIOUSLY THERE IS A PRETTY BIG PROBLEM IF I CANT GET TO BIOS.
ecaffeine is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 08:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: Foxconn A7DA-S Raid problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by ecaffeine View Post
Thanks for you guys' help but you are really not understanding the problem. I have set up many RAIDs before. I have the vista x64 raid drivers on a flash drive ready but I cannot get past the RAID manager to boot from ANYTHING. CANT EVEN GET TO BIOS. OBVIOUSLY THERE IS A PRETTY BIG PROBLEM IF I CANT GET TO BIOS.

Can you boot to your DVD with raid disabled or hard drives disconnected?
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 08:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 13
Default Re: Foxconn A7DA-S Raid problem

Yes I had been able to boot from DVD and install Vista x64 (This same DVD) on one of the hard drives about 4 days earlier.
ecaffeine is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 08:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: Foxconn A7DA-S Raid problem

Have you tried it with raid 1? Sorry I've only worked with Via and Promise controllers.
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 08:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 13
Default Re: Foxconn A7DA-S Raid problem

I cannot get into the utility to modify/delete/add new arrays. It is very odd. Most controllers you can hit f3 or w/e to enter the utility as its booting up but not this one.
ecaffeine is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 09:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: Foxconn A7DA-S Raid problem

Do you have any way to destroy the array and start over?
__________________

KurrentEweser is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with RAID and Lite-on DVD Drive digital_ninja2k Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 08-13-2008 01:19 AM
Problem with 3D graphics mordi05 Microsoft Windows and Software 6 12-10-2007 11:37 PM
RAID w/ P5K jergreen Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 11-09-2007 05:00 PM
Serious Problem...again. andrewsvalesen Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 06-17-2007 12:56 PM
RAID 5 issue Chveu Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-04-2007 04:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.