Foxcon Mobo Toast? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-16-2008, 08:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 28
Send a message via AIM to grifter43
Unhappy Foxcon Mobo Toast?

Ok, here's the deal. Recently, I had virus come and wipe my BIOs. So, I had to reinstall everything and also did a reconfig from RAID 0 to RAID 1. However, Windows doesn't really support RAID 1 and it would glitch time to time on boot up. Now, I boot up, I get a "Check Sum Error: Defaults loaded" and the computer locks and will not load windows or let me go to the BIOs setup page unless I reset.

Does anyone know if I am looking at a Reinstall or bad hardware?
__________________

grifter43 is offline  
Old 01-16-2008, 08:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Foxcon Mobo Toast?

Sounds like it's not POSTing.

Did you reset the BIOS?

You say a virus wiped out your BIOS? Doesn't sound good... Could be possible that the BIOS is now corrupted.

If all else fails you may try a BIOS flash.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 01-16-2008, 07:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Foxcon Mobo Toast?

I would reinstall w/out raid and see what happens and if all else fails try what Craze said.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 09:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 28
Send a message via AIM to grifter43
Default Re: Foxcon Mobo Toast?

Yeah, I tried resetting the BIOs and nothing. I'll try to reconfig without raid and flash the BIOs. Thanks.
grifter43 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS m2n sli deluxe mobo problem. possibly cpu galvo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 12-24-2007 02:04 PM
quick power/reset/ mobo conection question jfenwick Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-19-2007 07:52 PM
static and my mobo funkywaggnelz New Systems | Building and Buying 10 06-12-2007 03:03 PM
Plugging wires in the mobo power panel incorrectly piggysmile Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-25-2007 09:17 PM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.