Found out something fishy.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2008, 08:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Found out something fishy..

Alright, I've found out a problem that I do not know how to fix.

It's starts off with my Ethernet Card and my Router. So last night, I turned off the computer, (this was when my Ethernet Card was connect with the Cable and the Router wasn't connected with my system) then walked away for about 10 seconds, and out of nowhere I heard my system starting up again (by itself). I was like what the heck? So then I just told myself, I'll just go in and study for my test tomorrow (had finals).

Anyways, after I got home today, I was thinking about what was going wrong, took off my Ethernet card, and reseated it. Then I connected it again with my modem and turned on my computer. Thinking it was a possibility of being fixed, I turned off my computer, and then it turned itself back on again.

So after that happened, I connected my router, along with the Ethernet card, and got my internet up and running. Then I turned off my computer, and it stayed off.

Can something tell me what might be going wrong here? I'm thinking it might be because of my PCI slot. Anyways, it's running fine now. Just don't know what might have caused the automatic turn on of the computer.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 08:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Found out something fishy..

Sounds like this: Wake-on-LAN - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 08:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Found out something fishy..

So I've read what Wiki had to say about it.

I went to my Device Manager, and I followed what Wiki said about Enabling it. So if I reversed the steps, I could have disabled it. Thing is, I don't know if I actually disabled it or not.



is it that Tab? or this one?



I've currently disabled both Link Wakeup and Magic Packet Wakeup. Is there anything else I might need to disable for this to not happen again?
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 10:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Found out something fishy..

26 views and only 1 reply. Nobody seems to be really helpful anymore. :snob:
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 10:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Found out something fishy..

Quote:
Originally Posted by phucng_10 View Post
26 views and only 1 reply. Nobody seems to be really helpful anymore. :snob:
It was never THAT helpful to begin with.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 10:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Found out something fishy..

Well at least you're 1 in 40,977 members here on Tech-Forums that actually gave me a link that shows what's the problem here. :laughing:
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 10:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Found out something fishy..

It's either a jumper on the motherboard or it's in the BIOS, refer to your motherboard manual.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 01-18-2008, 10:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Found out something fishy..

wake on lan is usually in the bios.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 01-20-2008, 11:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Found out something fishy..

wake on lan is in my bios in the "integrated peripherals" section. don't know about yours.
lol sorry i knew that one as soon as i read your question. i just never have spent much time in this section, i'll start surfing it more often phucng.
but peter pretty much solved the problem (besides bios) in his reply.
i dont think that it will wake on lan if it is disabled in windows even if it is not disabled in bios.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ROFL - FOund this while revising Oreo Off Topic Discussion 6 11-22-2007 10:09 PM
Critical Vulnerability Found in Ask.com Toolbar Osiris Viruses, Spyware and Malware 1 10-03-2007 02:59 AM
Yall know this? & AVG fp... atomic tofu Viruses, Spyware and Malware 5 08-14-2007 03:52 PM
Operperating System not found on bootup rogue152 Microsoft Windows and Software 0 08-07-2007 10:15 PM
Sudden problems running Doom 3 and Prey Ice8168 PC Gaming 2 07-15-2007 10:39 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.