Formatting partition outside of Windows ? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2006, 01:36 PM   #11 (permalink)
I know things...
 
wicked23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 398
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Richard Laymon
Your almost correct, it is a multiple partitioned drive but Windows isn't on the drive. I has four partitions with this one partition corrupt. Any attempt at formatting within the Windows GUI hangs Windows.
I will however try what you suggest, it sounds logical (no pun intended)
Dude, now I'm confused. Can you please tell usEXACTLY what your trying to do.

Is this drive your trying to format slaved to another hdd? or what?

This is like playing twenty questions.
__________________

wicked23 is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 01:58 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RicoDirenzo
DID YOU TRY THIS OR NOT?
Yes I did try this and it doesn't work, Windows just hangs.

Quote:
Originally posted by Wicked23
Is this drive your trying to format slaved to another hdd? or what?

This is like playing twenty questions.
No this drive is not slaved to another drive. It's a lone drive with four partitions, one of which is corrupt and any attempt to format it within the Windows GUI results in nothing happening.
__________________

Richard Laymon is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 02:04 PM   #13 (permalink)
I know things...
 
wicked23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 398
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Richard Laymon
Windows isn't on the drive. I has four partitions with this one partition corrupt. Any attempt at formatting within the Windows GUI hangs Windows.
It's a lone drive with four partitions, one of which is corrupt and any attempt to format it within the Windows GUI results in nothing happening.ded)

How r u formating in a windows gui on a lone drive that doesn't contain windows and isn't slaved to another hdd?????
wicked23 is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 02:06 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Without it sitting in front of me....I have no idea. Hard drives are dirt cheap. Buy a second drive and reinstall windows on the new drive, transfer you important data from the old partitions to the new drive and reformat the old drive for data storage. You are making your life way to complicated!!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 02:26 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Boot wih a win98 bootdisk (you can get it from www.bootdisk.com or .org, I dont remember) then (after you boot with the diskette) type "format X:" X is the unit or your partition. type Yes when asked and wait..... Will take longer than a NORMAL windows GUI formating but will a sure thing. If the problem persist, you have a hardware problem...
Artik2 is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 02:33 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 40
Default

It's a lone drive (not the only drive, it just happens to be on it's own IDE slot with it's own IDE cable) connected to the computer along with some other drives connected the same way via there own IDE cables and connectors. It doesn't have Windows on it. The three partitions that work have material on them, the one that doesn't work, doesn't have material on it. I have tried formatting via the way RD suggested, this doesn't work because nothing happens. It remains at 0% formatting and most probably would do till time or electric run out.
I have no need to install Windows because there is nothing wrong with Windows, it is the partition on the drive that doesn't have Windows on it that has a problem. In the old days I would have booted to DOS and formatted that way but as Windows XP doesn't have DOS I'm kinda stumped.
Richard Laymon is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 02:35 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 40
Default

Sorry Artik2, I was posting whilst you were and didn't see your post. I have a motherboard that doesn't support floppy drives therefore I can't use a Windows 98 bootdisk
Richard Laymon is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 02:38 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Wow.........I'm at a loss. Sorry!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 02:57 PM   #19 (permalink)
I know things...
 
wicked23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 398
Default

Now that wasn't so hard. Should have posted that in the first place. Would have saved us lot's of time. Water under the bridge.

anyhow, Win xp has ms-dos prompt under start ,programs, accesories that does have format capabilities.

did you try using the windows disk like i suggested earlier?
__________________
"Research is what I'm doing when it looks like I'm not doing anything" :D

BEER, is it in you?
wicked23 is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 03:24 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 40
Default

No, I'm sure the Windows disk would have worked but I was prompted to use the Maxtor drive utility MaxBlast 4. This played with the partition for a few seconds, told me it had sorted it out. I then used Windows Disk Management utility to format the drive. It didn't hang as before and is whisking through it like a breeze as I speak
__________________

Richard Laymon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.