Formating my new 1TB HDD, but it's RAW format - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-21-2009, 02:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Formating my new 1TB HDD, but it's RAW format

Seagate 1TB 7200.12. Used for only 3 months, according to the guy on ebay i bought it from. It is formated RAW format. Looked like it mirrored itself n had over 4TBs. I deleted one of the partitions. Right now, im currently formatting it with Windows Vista. Taking forever :/. A message came up n said to backup my stuff or call manufacturer. I ignored it n just continued formating. It's long from done, but im worried. Am i doing anything wrong?

EDIT:

error came up again. Said there is a problem with the HDD n must backup to prevent information loss. What format freeware should i use?? Getting scared.
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 10-21-2009, 03:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

―\_(ツ)_/―
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: Formating my new 1TB HDD, but it's RAW format

Use GParted. It won't care what's on the disk.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 10-21-2009, 03:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Formating my new 1TB HDD, but it's RAW format

Grr it's giving me messages that it's bad. I cant stand it! Should i return it n get a refund? I have a CD here i can use later. Be back on later after work.

i need instructions to use gparted. Last time i used it, i said i needed a special burner or something to get it to work. Plz i need help!
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 10-21-2009, 05:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

―\_(ツ)_/―
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: Formating my new 1TB HDD, but it's RAW format

Use CDBurnerXP or ImgBurn to burn the GParted image. Then boot from it.

CDBurnerXP: Downloads

The Official ImgBurn Website

Here's GParted's instructions:
GPARTED DOCUMENTATION - GENERALITIES
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 10-21-2009, 09:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Formating my new 1TB HDD, but it's RAW format

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Use CDBurnerXP or ImgBurn to burn the GParted image. Then boot from it.

CDBurnerXP: Downloads

The Official ImgBurn Website

Here's GParted's instructions:
GPARTED DOCUMENTATION - GENERALITIES
thank you! I will get to it right away!

do i have to restart my PC to use gparted? It didnt look like i had to when i used my OS disc while on desktop.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 10-21-2009, 09:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,024
Default Re: Formating my new 1TB HDD, but it's RAW format

Yeah, GParted is a Linux Live CD. It boots into a Linux GUI, and from there you can do whatever you want with it. I second the use of GParted. It hasn't failed me yet! Except when making partitions.. But everything else failed too, so yeah.
__________________
7700k • 32GB RAM • 512GB 960 Pro • GTX 1080 • NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is offline  
Old 10-21-2009, 10:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Formating my new 1TB HDD, but it's RAW format

Quote:
Originally Posted by iFargle View Post
Yeah, GParted is a Linux Live CD. It boots into a Linux GUI, and from there you can do whatever you want with it. I second the use of GParted. It hasn't failed me yet! Except when making partitions.. But everything else failed too, so yeah.
what is the point of using a Linux Live CD when i cant even use partitions with it? I was planning on, well after formatting, partitioning the HDD with Windows Vista so i can install Windows 7 on that small partition. Maybe 35GB should be enough. Or would u guys recommend me a different solution?
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 10-21-2009, 10:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,024
Default Re: Formating my new 1TB HDD, but it's RAW format

What do you mean you can't use partitions with it? All Gparted does is disk management (partitioning, formatting, etc)
__________________
7700k • 32GB RAM • 512GB 960 Pro • GTX 1080 • NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is offline  
Old 10-21-2009, 10:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

―\_(ツ)_/―
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: Formating my new 1TB HDD, but it's RAW format

It is a live CD. It will only be residing in the RAM, so it can erase any partitions you want. Once it has removed all partitions you should be able to format with Vista, or you could use one of these:

|MG| Partition Wizard Home Edition 4.0 Download

|MG| EASEUS Partition Master Home Edition 4.0.1 Download
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 10-22-2009, 12:14 AM   #10 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Formating my new 1TB HDD, but it's RAW format

ok so i burned the ISO of gparted live. I'm on desktop, n i tried loading the drivers by browsing like as if im install Vista. I get nothing. NOTHING! Says no drivers. I'm stumped.

EDIT:

Hmm i will try to boot up the disc by restarting my PC then n try that.
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAW hdd, o noes S0ULphIRE Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 07-01-2009 10:35 PM
1TB Network HDD failure MAMBO04 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 17 05-27-2009 06:32 PM
1tb Wd Hdd @ $189.99 Fat.Clown Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 3 03-20-2008 01:47 PM
HDD formating help edwardopowers Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-08-2008 05:51 PM
format HDD harley88 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 09-13-2007 07:14 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.