Formating Compaq Presario CQ56 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2014, 10:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 6
Default Formating Compaq Presario CQ56

Anyone know where I could get recovery disk for that laptop? Or get a Windows installation disk so I can format the hardrive? It runs Windows profesional 32bit. It apperantly has the option to press F11 to enter recovery mode but when I press it when it boots, it says something like starting recovery mode but then just skips it and starts Windows normally.

Sent from my GT-I9500 using Tapatalk
__________________

Hernando23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2014, 10:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Formating Compaq Presario CQ56

Not specifically recovery disc for the CQ56, but is generic Windows 7 ISO:
Legal Download from DigitalRiver: Windows 7 SP1, 13 languages

Pick the correct version (Home vs Pro) - 32bit or 64bit doesn't matter, as your key should work for either. Burn the ISO to a DVD, or make a USB install using Microsoft's USB tool: Microsoft Store

You'll just have to download the drivers for your laptop if Windows doesn't auto-install some devices.

If you'd rather get an actual recovery disc for your model, then you'll need to contact HP/Compaq and order a set of recovery discs (will most likely cost around $20).
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2014, 11:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 6
Default Re: Formating Compaq Presario CQ56

I can't download it there, not the 32bit nor the 64bit, just says page not available or has been removed.

Sent from my GT-I9500 using Tapatalk
Hernando23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2014, 11:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Formating Compaq Presario CQ56

Hmm, for some reason the links are down. Not sure if they were taken down by Microsoft again or not... haven't read anything in any of the threads about other people having problems yet.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2014, 11:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 6
Default Re: Formating Compaq Presario CQ56

Seems like all the links for Windows 7 on digitalriver are down. Any way I could get my computer into recovery mode other than when booting?

Sent from my GT-I9500 using Tapatalk
Hernando23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2014, 11:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Formating Compaq Presario CQ56

Is there a reason you can't boot into Windows normally?

Have you tried booting into Safe Mode through the F8 boot menu?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2014, 01:45 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 6
Default Re: Formating Compaq Presario CQ56

I can boot into Windows normally but i need to restore my laptop to factory settings and I can't get into recovery mode. I finally found a download link that worked and downloaded Windows, copied it onto a Bootable USB and now it got stuck on completing installation..

Sent from my GT-I9500 using Tapatalk
Hernando23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2014, 09:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Formating Compaq Presario CQ56

How long did it stay stuck at that phase? Did you power it down see if it booted up, or attempted to reinstall when the install froze, or is it still stuck there?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2014, 09:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 6
Default Re: Formating Compaq Presario CQ56

It stayed there like 7 hours before I shut it down and rebooted and now it's stuck on "setup is starting services".

Sent from my GT-I9500 using Tapatalk
__________________

Hernando23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New tower for my compaq presario 5410us 95neongirl Overclocking and Modding 17 06-23-2004 04:36 PM
Compaq Presario 5000" giblet101 Microsoft Windows and Software 6 05-25-2004 10:30 AM
Need help disassembling Compaq Presario 700 laptop amclean Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 03-30-2004 12:49 AM
Sound Problems on a Compaq Presario 5000 series Desktop PC antyx Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 03-11-2004 01:03 PM
Compaq Presario 4550 Recovery Disk leecherous Microsoft Windows and Software 4 02-26-2004 12:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.