Floppy drives not working....at all... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-30-2008, 09:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Mordred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 214
Send a message via AIM to Mordred
Default Floppy drives not working....at all...

So, in preparation for my new system I went to throw the newest mobo BIOS on a floppy disc. Then I realized that my brother's computer (being a Dell) is absolute crap and won't format a floppy disc. No problem, I decided to take his drive and hook it up to my current PC. So I hooked it up to my current PC no problem. Widows recognized it. I put the floppy disc in (so far so good.) Windows says that there is no floppy disc in the drive....so I tried another floppy disc. Same thing... I decided to call my friend and have him bring over one of his many floppy drives. He did, that floppy drive did the same thing. So, I suppose my question is "WTH!?!" Anyone have any suggestions?
__________________

Mordred is offline  
Old 01-30-2008, 09:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Floppy drives not working....at all...

question: when did you buy these floppy discs? If you are like me and assuming you can use some old floppies from a decade ago, they are probably dead...so just getting the basics out of the way

oh also, do you get an option to format...or can you choose it? if so, do so.

I haven't used floppies since...I got smart! come on ppl jk
intel's mobo saves me from having to resort to cave man devices
__________________

atomic tofu is offline  
Old 01-30-2008, 10:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: Floppy drives not working....at all...

Also are you sure the ribben cable is pluged in the right way? Also is the floppy enabled in BIOS?
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 01-30-2008, 10:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Mordred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 214
Send a message via AIM to Mordred
Default Re: Floppy drives not working....at all...

I'll double check everything you guys have posted and then post back.
Mordred is offline  
Old 01-30-2008, 10:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 17
Default Re: Floppy drives not working....at all...

Replace the ribbon cable. I had half of my IDE devices die on me recently, and replacing the cable fixed it.
Ensign_Expendable is offline  
Old 01-30-2008, 11:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Mordred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 214
Send a message via AIM to Mordred
Default Re: Floppy drives not working....at all...

I got the drive working...but the instructions on how to create the floppy disc are a little confusing to me (this is my first time ever doing it.) Can anyone give me a hand?

I downloaded the most recent BIOS file. I formatted the floppy disc to be an MS-DOS startup disc. I went to copy the 5 files to the disc and I got an error telling me the floppy disc was full. I'm a little confused. Does it make a difference that I am making the disc on this computer, when it will be used on my new computer? When I format the disc to be an MS-DOS startup disc, the disc has a bunch of files on it already... like ega.cpi, ega2.cpi, ega3.cpi, keyb.com, etc etc. I know the format was successful.

Instructions taken from Abit's website Universal abit USA - How to upgrade BIOS?

Any help will be appreciated.
Mordred is offline  
Old 01-30-2008, 11:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: Floppy drives not working....at all...

Did you just extract the BIN files to the floppy after making the start up disk.
It doesn't make a difference on what system you make the disk on. Those are the start up files. I just mad a disk with the Bios files your trying to use and it fit. After you make the start up disk right click on the bios file and select extract to A: it will put the files on the A:

I just had another thought. I know scary,,,
You should also get another disk and find a program for backing up your existing Bios before you try the Flash. Just to be safe.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 01-30-2008, 11:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Mordred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 214
Send a message via AIM to Mordred
Default Re: Floppy drives not working....at all...

Extracting directly to the floppy disc didn't work either...let me post some pics to show what's up.

Formatting the disc....

After Format....

Trying to put the BIOS files on the disc....


It will put almost all 5 files on the floppy disc, and then it becomes full.... Any ideas?
Mordred is offline  
Old 01-30-2008, 11:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Mordred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 214
Send a message via AIM to Mordred
Default Re: Floppy drives not working....at all...

These are the files that I am supposed to be extracting onto the floppy...
Mordred is offline  
Old 01-31-2008, 12:24 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: Floppy drives not working....at all...

What motherboard is this?
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAID without floppy? dhgunit New Systems | Building and Buying 7 11-03-2007 02:56 PM
CD and Floppy data/media storage White_Wolf Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 10-16-2007 01:59 PM
BIOS stopped detecting hard drives YoBagonGo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-04-2007 11:42 PM
Two 500Gb Hard Drives Denise_M Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 04-16-2007 03:09 PM
New Western Digital Drives For AV Products maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 04-09-2007 02:14 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.