Floppy drive problem. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-05-2005, 11:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 15
Send a message via AIM to Xine
Default Floppy drive problem.

Yeah, this is probably the first time I'm actually using the drive, and it won't format any disk I put in. Not quite sure how to go about finding out what the problem is either. I tried over ten different disks to find out if it was something wrong with those particular ones, but it won't format any. Any advice on where to go from here?
__________________

Xine is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 11:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Buy another one. $10, why bother doing anything else.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 12:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 27
Default

Does it read floppy disk? Try using the same floppy disk in another PC.
obedyah is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 12:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 15
Send a message via AIM to Xine
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SHAWN
Buy another one. $10, why bother doing anything else.
Ha ha ha. Good call. I was just looking at prices, and I'll probably go pick one up today. If it's something simple though, I'd like to just fix it so I can bypass opening up the chasis again today.

Yeah, the disks are readable in another machine. When I look at the floppy drive itself it says there is a 3 1/2 inch floppy in it, but it just won't format it. I need a disk so I can flash my BIOS.
Xine is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 12:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 27
Default

can the drive read a floppy disk?
obedyah is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 08:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 15
Send a message via AIM to Xine
Default

Yeah, it reads them considering it says there is a 3 /12 inch floppy in the drive. It just doesn't format.
__________________

Xine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.