Flashing the BIOS ... can this corrupt the RAM? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2007, 05:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,178
Arrow Flashing the BIOS ... can this corrupt the RAM?

Last night I downloaded the latest BIOS update from Asus for my M2N-Plus SLI Vista Edition motherboard. I flashed it from within Windows using Asus Update program, then the PC restarted and all was well.

I had the PC downloading the past few weeks of WWE on Azureus throughout the night. I woke up, hopped on the PC, and started IMing a few people, while checking email etc. Soon after, a nice blue-screen came up, and the computer shut off. I figured it was one of those one-time flukes, but then Vista booted up...tried logging in, and another blue-screen, with the header of "MEMORY_MANAGEMENT".

I then reflashed the BIOS backup, but the errors remained... so I again flashed the latest BIOS.

So I downloaded Memtest86 1.7, ran it, and boom! Hundreds...thousands...of errors. My memory setup is this:
2x 512 MB Dual-Channel
2x 1 GB Dual-Channel

Equal models, same timing etc. The same I had been using for the past five months without issue.

I took out the 2 x 1 GB sticks, and there were no errors. I then placed just the 2 x 1 GB sticks in, and boom! Solid errors. I tried using the alternate memory slots (one pair in dual channel can be used in either set, according to the motherboard manual)... and the same thing... tons of errors with the 2 x 1 GB, and errorless with the 2 x 512 MB.

Now the question is... is this a coincidence? ...or could flashing the BIOS somehow lead to some RAM being corrupted?

Thoughts or ideas?
__________________

__________________
Vormund is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 06:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: Flashing the BIOS ... can this corrupt the RAM?

there was no need to flash the Bios , run Memtest one stick at a time and see which ones are dead, if it shows even 1 error on a stick then toss it out as its useless .
__________________

SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 06:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,178
Default Re: Flashing the BIOS ... can this corrupt the RAM?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sylwek View Post
there was no need to flash the Bios , run Memtest one stick at a time and see which ones are dead, if it shows even 1 error on a stick then toss it out as its useless .
You can't say there was no need to flash the BIOS - I didn't even give the reasoning behind it, nor did I ask anything about how to use Memtest. My only question is if flashing the BIOS can somehow corrupt some of the installed RAM. No offense intended, but please don't respond unless you read the post.
__________________
Vormund is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 09:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Dio1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 205
Red face Re: Flashing the BIOS ... can this corrupt the RAM?

It could be your HDD. I had the same problem and was saying something about my memory until i took out my hard drive and put it into another computer boom, it was a HDD. But for your question, no clue.
__________________
Capitol-College '2014
M.S. in Information Assurance
North Carolina A&T State University '2011
B.S. in Computer Science
Dio1080 is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 10:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Flashing the BIOS ... can this corrupt the RAM?

I think it's a software problem - your BIOS has nothing to do with it
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 10:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 139
Default Re: Flashing the BIOS ... can this corrupt the RAM?

Hi. Flashing BIOS can never damage RAM. When you flash the BIOS, the only thing you're doing is using specific software to re-write the firmware recorded on the corresponding chip on the motherboard. It could never affect a piece of hardware.
__________________
\"You just don\'t live life. You change it. You shape it. You make a mark upon it...\"
COCOCOOKIE is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 11:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Flashing the BIOS ... can this corrupt the RAM?

Flashing BIOS? I don't think flashing the BIOS can have anything to do with the RAM. Anyways, there wasn't really a need to update your BIOS unless something was going wrong.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 11:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: Flashing the BIOS ... can this corrupt the RAM?

i just skimmed over your post so dont get to upset about what i wrote, anyway no your BIOS has nothing to do with killing your RAM , and like i said test your ram one by one and see which one of those are causing the "MEMORY_MANAGEMENT" problem
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 06:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Flashing the BIOS ... can this corrupt the RAM?

Flashing BIOS wouldn't actually harm your RAM, but it might make it have errors if it isn't reading it properly and such.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 08:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Flashing the BIOS ... can this corrupt the RAM?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazeD View Post
Flashing BIOS wouldn't actually harm your RAM, but it might make it have errors if it isn't reading it properly and such.
The BIOS has nothing to do with it. He said tt was running fine for a while.
If the BIOS was at fault, he would have noticed it very quickly.

I still say it's a software problem.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Freezes in BIOS Indobos Laptops and Notebooks 13 08-01-2007 06:10 PM
BIOS chip on my motherboard ArchisT New Systems | Building and Buying 3 07-29-2007 04:42 PM
Corrupt windows XP file, wont boot XP spikoman69 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 07-07-2007 05:43 AM
Simple Laptop BIOS MonkeyBusiness Overclocking and Modding 4 06-16-2007 02:49 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.