Flash the bios in my DFI NF4 withought a floppy? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-17-2005, 06:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to jaross
Default Flash the bios in my DFI NF4 withought a floppy?

I dont have a floppy drive. I never thought that I would ever use one again. According to the instructions on how to flash the bios on the DFI site, I need a floppy. Is there any other way to do this, and, is it that important that I update the bios?
__________________

__________________
AMD FX-55
2 GIGs Patriot RAM
ATI X850XT PL

G4 Powerbook

\"I have a blatant disregard for EULAs\"
jaross is offline  
Old 08-17-2005, 06:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

there are programs like "Winflash" i think is the name of one that'll flash within windows.

Generally you only need to update the BIOS when you're searching for one that might be more stable than others when you're overclocking...so if you aren't overclocking then don't worry about it
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 08-17-2005, 08:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

winflash will work well. Make sure you back up your current BIOS first. Then make sure you download the correct BIOS for your MOBO.

Use winflash. Update BIOS. REBOOT...

Make sure you enter your BIOS after reboot and reconfigure your FIRST BOOT SEQUENCE. It will default back to floppy after FLASHING. Change it to your HDD with your OS.

Good Luck.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 01:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to jaross
Default

ok, that worked. apparently, the bios is the same for my DFAG and the Infinity DFI motherbaords. or they got their downloads mixed up and my board will fry soon, but i dont think that is the case because my computer is working fine.
__________________
AMD FX-55
2 GIGs Patriot RAM
ATI X850XT PL

G4 Powerbook

\"I have a blatant disregard for EULAs\"
jaross is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.