Fixing disk drives - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2005, 04:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Default Fixing disk drives

Mkay... so i have a problem with my disk drives one day i turn my computer on and go to put a disk in the drives they open and close fine but all of a sudden my computer dosent recognize that they are disk drives. so i checked in My Computer and they arent showen in there either so i opened the case to see if they were still hooked up and sure enough they were... does anyone know what happened to them?
__________________

mark-ms.dos is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 04:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

this happened to a computer I was working on the other day...

it turned out to be the psu cord, I just unpluged it, and switched it with one that wasn't being used...

edit: sorry didn't read the post right..., maybe it's the ribbon cords?

make sure they are plugged in securly, on both the drives and the motherboard

edit again: try unplugging them, booting up the pc, then shutdown, plug them back in, and see if they show up...

or plug on in as a slave drive on the hard drives cord... to see if the secondary ide is broken...
__________________

Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 12:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Could try a system restore to a time when they were detected fine if the above suggestions don't work.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 12:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Default

lol it dident and how do you do a system restore?
mark-ms.dos is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 02:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

If you have windows xp, just go to:
Start button > All Programs > Accessories > System Tools > System Restore

I think you can do it on windows 2000 as well, earlier operating systems don't have this feature.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 03:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Before doing that, go into the BIOS and MAKE SURE that the BIOS is detecting them properly.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.