First time poster...First time problem. "OPERATING SYSTEM NOT FOUND."

Status
Not open for further replies.

oncearunner

Beta member
Hi all,

Like I said I am a first time poster here and hoping to get some guidance. I am a computer noob. I mean, I can manage here and there well...but when it comes to the hardware aspects I am doomed.

Everything was going fine with my laptop until last nite. Before all of this mess I had changed my internal harddrive because it was not sounding too well. So the current one I had in there was maybe a max of two to three months old. (Probably still under some type of warrant, will have to look...)

But likewise I was playing a computer game last nite and my computer was running extremely sluggish, more than usual. So I decided to quit the game and restart the whole computer to clean up the junk if there was any.

Everything was all fine and well untill i came in to the xp log in screen. After I logged in it was frozen on my desktop forever and my hardrive was making hissing and clicking noises.

I understand that the hard drive is now shot, gone, and never to be seen again. But after it was frozen I rebooted the computer to give it one more try. See if there was stiill life left in the sucker. TO my dismay everything worked fine this time around. I tinkered for a few minutes, checked my email...and i went to bed knowing maybe the hard drive was gonna live a little longer.

When I woke up thsi morning and booted my computer, it was a little sketchy...I had this feeling it might not go the way I wanted it to.

And I was right. It loaded up my intro and then went to a black screen with "OPERATING SYSTEM NOT FOUND." I tinkered around with the bios and what not, but it couldn't locate a hard drive either.

What options do I have? After I get a new hard drive can anyone post directions as to what to do? I am typing this question in advance.