First time PC builder - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-06-2006, 11:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 22
Default First time PC builder

Hello, I received my parts today and now I'm putting them together.

I put in the PSU, the mobo, and the processor, but having trouble with the processor heatsink. I can only get the 2 pins on the left side in, and can't get the ones on the right in, and I don't want to press any harder, in fear of breaking something.

I am also having trouble with the cables, as newbie as that may seem. These are how the wires are currently plugged in. If you see an error, please help me correct it.

I've got a molex-molex-molex-4pin cable coming from the PSU. I plugged it into the female molex on the mobo, and that's it for that strand.
I've got another molex-molex-molex-4pin cable coming from the PSU. I plugged it into: DVDrom-blank-HDD-floppy, respectively.
I've got a bigger 4-pin cable just by itself coming from the PSU, plugged into a female 8-slot on the mobo, only using 4 out of 8 of the plugs though.
Then I've got the SATA power cable-SATA power cable that I have plugged into the blank-HDD.
I have the SATA data cable from the HDD into the mobo.
I also have a left over POWER LED cable, and I don't know where it goes. I see the POWER LED slot where it looks like it'd go, but that slot is only 2 pins while the plug is 3.

I understand this is probably hard to read, but I'd appreciate it tremendously for the help, that way I don't have to take it in for a professional to look at it. Spending money on this rig, I just don't have the money right now. I'm very cautious, and don't want to start the system up yet until I figure everything is 100% perfect, as last time I installed a HDD, I plugged it in wrong and fried it.

Thanks very much in advance,
Skizzy

Edit: Just now put in my 7900GS, and it came with a 3pinMolex-6pin-3pinMolex. I can see where the 6pin goes on the video card, but where would I plug in the molex(es)?
__________________

Skizzy is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 11:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

It's to hard to tell by your discription. Could you post some pictures. It would help. Or at least the name and type of MOBO, Video card and power supply.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 11:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 22
Default

Unforunately I'm using a temp computer and cannot post pictures, but here are my specs:

Foxconn P9657AA-8KS2H Socket T (LGA 775) Intel P965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard
Intel E6300 Conroe
eVGA 7900GS
XClio 450BL ATX 450W Power Supply
Skizzy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.