First Time Desktop Upgrades - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-06-2016, 10:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Abingdon
Posts: 2
Default First Time Desktop Upgrades

Hello!

I've just started a little PC project as got a free desktop from my employer, it's a Dell OptiPlex 780 so not very high specs, but my plan is to upgrade it a little so I can use it for some light gaming/photo editing. So far I've upgraded the hard drive fine, that all works, I've added a low spec video card so that I can hook it up to my TV via HDMI, however I've run into problems with the RAM.
The PC originally had 2GB of Crucial RAM, I replaced it with 2x4gb of Kingston, but when I powered on the PC the 'Hycom Hy 05' started buzzing. I've tried moving the cards around, I've tried the new RAM with no video card, still beeps, I've tried one card with video card, the other card without etc. Nothing works aside from the 2GB card with the video card.

Any ideas as to how I could get around this?

Thanks very much!
__________________

tobiassmullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2016, 11:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: First Time Desktop Upgrades

This is a troubleshooting thread. The max capacity per stick the 780 allows is 2GB.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2016, 11:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Abingdon
Posts: 2
Default Re: First Time Desktop Upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
This is a troubleshooting thread. The max capacity per stick the 780 allows is 2GB.
Perfect! Thanks very much for your help, I'll give that a go! Apologies for the wrong board.
tobiassmullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
beeping, help me, ram, video card

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Minor upgrades to an old desktop Mooner System Upgrades 16 08-23-2010 03:32 PM
time for some upgrades spartan1121 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 11-18-2007 06:16 PM
First time poster...First time problem. "OPERATING SYSTEM NOT FOUND." oncearunner Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 01-07-2007 07:17 AM
Need some advice on my xmas time upgrades Ice breaker New Systems | Building and Buying 13 12-12-2006 11:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.