First build, not booting up...think it's PSU - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2009, 10:06 PM   #21 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 95
Default Re: First build, not booting up...think it's PSU

How do I test to see if the mobo is bad? Or test for a short?
__________________

kershner is offline  
Old 01-22-2009, 10:23 PM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: First build, not booting up...think it's PSU

Just want to make sure, do you have the 8-pin cpu power connected?
__________________

brinks is offline  
Old 01-22-2009, 10:32 PM   #23 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 95
Default Re: First build, not booting up...think it's PSU

Oh yeah.
kershner is offline  
Old 01-23-2009, 09:00 AM   #24 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 95
Default Re: First build, not booting up...think it's PSU

So, is there a way to test if the mobo/case connections are bad? Or do I just start RMAing at random? Lol
kershner is offline  
Old 01-23-2009, 10:20 AM   #25 (permalink)
True Techie
 
nderscore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 163
Send a message via AIM to nderscore
Default Re: First build, not booting up...think it's PSU

Try having only the bare minimum:
Motherboard
CPU
One stick of RAM
Video Card
Power Supply

Make sure the 24 pin and 8 pin on the motherboard is connected.
Make sure the video card has power by supplying the appropriate PCI-E cables.
Make sure when everything is plugged in that the switch on the back of the power supply is in the closed position ( - rather than o ).
Plug in your power supply to the wall outlet.

At this point you should see some LED light up on your motherboard, indicating that the board has power.
nderscore is offline  
Old 01-23-2009, 01:46 PM   #26 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 95
Default Re: First build, not booting up...think it's PSU

Do I need to have the front panels from my case correctly hooked up for this test to work?

Basically, will I get the LEDs on the mobo to light up without the front panel connectors being connected? And if they don't light up...bingo, bad mobo?
kershner is offline  
Old 01-23-2009, 01:51 PM   #27 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: First build, not booting up...think it's PSU

My vote is for the pin settings on the lower right of the motherboard which attach to the front of the case. You need your power button to work. If it doesn't, you won't be able to power on. If it's not at the right pin connection, then nadda is gonna work.

Look in your manual for your wiring configuration. Even if your mobo manual sucks, it should still have a diagram somewhere in it.
Jayce is offline  
Old 01-23-2009, 01:58 PM   #28 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: First build, not booting up...think it's PSU

You don't need the switch, use something to jump the pwr switch/pins.

Edit, as Surge said.. pg 27 of the MB manual shows you which are which.

I bet you've got them wrong.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 01-23-2009, 02:09 PM   #29 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: First build, not booting up...think it's PSU

Quote:
Originally Posted by kershner View Post
Do I need to have the front panels from my case correctly hooked up for this test to work?

Basically, will I get the LEDs on the mobo to light up without the front panel connectors being connected? And if they don't light up...bingo, bad mobo?
You shouldn't need the front panel pins connected.

Now, I just want you to know that you don't have to feel bad because your first build had complications. It is very common for PC hardware to be DOA or have issues, especially when building custom machines as each part will have a different percent chance of failure. The chance that something was DOA or failed in your build is the same as if you would buy a computer from somewhere else, only this time you get better warranties on the parts, better support because you can call all of your part manufacturers, and usually a more reliable computer since companies like Dell, HP, etc. often use no-name cheap brand parts.

So basically, keep your head up and once everything is up and running you will have a great sense of accomplishment!
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 01-23-2009, 02:53 PM   #30 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 95
Default Re: First build, not booting up...think it's PSU

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
You don't need the switch, use something to jump the pwr switch/pins.
Jump the pwr switch/pins? Can you elaborate on that for me?

I've tried putting the PWR_Switch cable into every single slot on the front panel connector board, none of them work.

Thanks for giving me a little bit of hope about the DOA parts...I was starting to wonder if it was exceedingly rare for a part to be DOA (and therefore I must be doing something wrong).
__________________

kershner is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First post - First build - HT/Media/Multi-Task Build Reco's? delirium330 New Systems | Building and Buying 60 01-12-2009 03:07 PM
First Computer Build: Newb Need Advice djc122984 System Upgrades 15 12-31-2008 07:59 AM
New AMD Build, Faulty PSU? Xenzaka Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-29-2008 10:01 PM
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
New build help encity5 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 04-26-2008 10:11 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.