First Build Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2007, 05:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Default First Build Help

I was so worried going into my first real build that either one of the components I bought would be bad or I would mess something up. I hope neither of those things is true but I'm having trouble.

I put everything together and when it starts, power is on and all fans run but I get absolutely no beeps or video. The power LED is orange.

I disconnected/removed pretty much everything including the video card and RAM to the point that the only things connected were the PSU, MB, and CPU. Still had the same result.

As far as I know everything is connect properly. I'm just kind of lost and don't know where to troubleshoot from here. I really hope nothing is messed up. Any advice on something I might be overlooking or anything I could try would be appreciated.

Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
C2D E6300
Antec SmartPower 2.0 500
__________________

brucebolt83 is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 07:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 47
Default

Well it's sure as **** not gonna start without a hard drive connected, tell us more about your components.
__________________

__________________
MOBO:Intel 915GAG
CPU:Pentium 4 3.2 GHz
Memory:2x Samsung 512MB DDR 184-Pin PC3200
Hard Drive:Western Digital 200GB
Optical Drives:Lite-On DVD-RW Dual Layer Burner, Lite-On DVD-ROM
GPU:Sapphire X1900GT PCI-E
PSU:Ultra X2 550W ATX Modular
Case:Ultra Aluminus ATX
HomicidalWookie is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 07:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Default

I'm not really at that point yet. Just trying to get it to post. When it wouldn't I took everything out except the PSU, MB, and CPU just to see if I could hear the error beeps.
brucebolt83 is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 08:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 17
Default

Do you have another PC with similar parts that you can go through and test each part of your new PC with? If you do just get your working computer, and replace the ram with the ram from your non-working computer... if it works then the ram is fine.... do this with all the parts to find the dodgy component
carey_w is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 08:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Don't have another PC I can really use. My current one is pretty old so nothing is really compatible.
brucebolt83 is offline  
Old 01-26-2007, 01:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
[$m] Steele Muffins
 
<[MaTT]>'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 466
Default

take it to a professional so they can tell you if something is wrong
__________________
<a href="http://profile.xfire.com/sykomatt"><img src="http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/2/sykomatt.png" width="450" height="34" /></a>
<[MaTT]> is offline  
Old 01-27-2007, 10:29 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Was able to swap out the PSU to see if that was the problem. Had the same result. I figured out the LED issue...I just had the connector upside down. But everything is the same. All fans and lights work but I get no beeps or video. I assume something is wrong with either the MB or CPU. I read in another thread that if the CPU is bad it'll still post but report that the CPU is bad. Is this true?
__________________

brucebolt83 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.