First Build: Boot up Issues - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2009, 03:33 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Georgia
Posts: 99
Default Re: First Build: Boot up Issues

I just unplugged the Hard drive and the optical drive as well as the RAM and both front panel USB cables, and it did the exact same thing =[

Just to clarify the Re-booting itself is NO LONGER an issue.
__________________

JayMiller8080 is offline  
Old 12-28-2009, 03:36 PM   #12 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default Re: First Build: Boot up Issues

ok plug them back in. This now sounds like it's definitely a mobo or gpu issue.

take the vid card out. boot it up... Do the LED lights change at all? I assume you haven't setup the system speaker yet, right?
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 12-28-2009, 04:01 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: First Build: Boot up Issues

Yeah, you can look up beep codes. I myself use a diagnostic card. I got one cheap from Ebay a few years ago
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-28-2009, 05:57 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: First Build: Boot up Issues

me and slaymate have had this problem with evga mobo's. the way slaymate fixed it, was reset the bios and let it sit for about 20-30 mins with power cord out, try that several times to see if it works. The way mine fixed was either by doing that or moving the ram into the next channel (did them at the same time so i dont know)
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 12-28-2009, 07:00 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: First Build: Boot up Issues

You say you can't see any video at post. Can you hear the single post beep? Your mobo has a built-in speaker so you should hear any beeps.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 12-28-2009, 07:05 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: First Build: Boot up Issues

snap, sorry, really should have read the rest of the posts in the thread before i posted...since you are staying on it most likely is not the problem i posted.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 12-28-2009, 09:06 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Georgia
Posts: 99
Default Re: First Build: Boot up Issues

Oh man, Oh man the things you learn during your first build.

"You say you can't see any video at post. Can you hear the single post beep? Your mobo has a built-in speaker so you should hear any beeps."

I figured since it stayed on, I just wasn't seeing whatever was on the screen. This was before I realized that I needed to hear a beep, not just a click. I've been at a friends house all day (who has built 2-3 computers) and we've been trying to get it to work.

First problem (which I actually figured was, but I thought I'd ask him before trying to fix it) was an 8-pin connection that wasn't plugged in which was apparently CPU power.

After fooling with a lot of different troubleshooting options we started getting some crazy LED error codes and whatnot. FINALLY he decided to take all the RAM out and just put in one stick of it. Booted up perfectly with no issues. We decided my RAM must be the issue.

I got home, pulled that stick of RAM out, did some cable management, put the RAM back in and booted it up.. same issue. =[ I called him to tell him, and he says "wait, did I put that stick of RAM in when we tested it?" to which I replied yes.

Turns out I wasn't pushing my RAM far enough in =[ To me it felt like it was sliding in, but apparently you have to apply a fair amount of force until it actually snaps in. Just a beginner's mistake I guess. =/ I tried to boot it up with the rest of the RAM in, after knowing how to put it in properly and worked perfectly.

Thanks everyone for all your help! It's been GREATLY appreciated. Just figured I'd fill everyone in for their own knowledge or anyone else who may come across a similar troubleshooting process.

Thanks VERY much, again.
JayMiller8080 is offline  
Old 12-28-2009, 09:14 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: First Build: Boot up Issues

If you have any more problems with that EVGA mobo let us know, were getting pretty good with them
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 12-28-2009, 09:47 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Georgia
Posts: 99
Default Re: First Build: Boot up Issues

Will do! I like this place a lot. I'll be hanging around
JayMiller8080 is offline  
Old 12-29-2009, 09:46 AM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: First Build: Boot up Issues

Glad we could help, Jay!
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
my Core2 duo build won't boot from CD madcat75 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 11-07-2009 03:07 PM
New Build System Boot Linux/Windows... OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 12 07-31-2007 02:46 PM
New Build Issues ... geeks unite ! s.o.s. ! Webfugitive Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 07-27-2007 10:47 AM
New build won't boot from cd. ohGrFreak Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 07-04-2007 01:03 PM
New PC build issues crussell Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 04-07-2007 12:18 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.