First Boot Failure - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2008, 05:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 133
Default First Boot Failure

Hey everyone, last night I setup my new system. I'm running a Phenom x4 2.60 on a geforce 8200 mobo, with a 9800 gt video card. I also have 4 GB of ddr2 dual channel 800mhz. I have everything connected... I started up the mobo, all fans turn on. I notice the green lights near the ram is on so I'm assuming that's working fine. I have a red light right under my video card, not sure what that means. I have my windows cd in the driver ready to rock n roll but it;s not sending out an image to my 22" acer. Any ideas?
__________________

Cajete is offline  
Old 11-08-2008, 06:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: First Boot Failure

first things first. check that ur 12v atx connector is in (near the cpu chipset). also wat psu are you running? check the amperage rating on the sticker located on the side of the unit.

i think the red light on your 9800gt means the 6 pin connector hasn't been plugged up properly, so check that those are connected, seems that the new nvidia cards have the red light instead of the old squel they used to have when the card has insufficient power.
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 11-08-2008, 06:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 133
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by baron5 View Post
first things first. check that ur 12v atx connector is in (near the cpu chipset). also wat psu are you running? check the amperage rating on the sticker located on the side of the unit.

i think the red light on your 9800gt means the 6 pin connector hasn't been plugged up properly, so check that those are connected, seems that the new nvidia cards have the red light instead of the old squel they used to have when the card has insufficient power.
Hmmm, I checked my connectors and they are all fastened in pretty tight. I have a 750 watt ultra psu.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cajete View Post
Hmmm, I checked my connectors and they are all fastened in pretty tight. I have a 750 watt ultra psu.
It can't be the PSU because when I take off the 9800 from the PSU, i get no signal from the on board vga to my 22".

could it be that i need to run on a low res monitor or crt?
Cajete is offline  
Old 11-08-2008, 06:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: First Boot Failure

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cajete View Post
It can't be the PSU because when I take off the 9800 from the PSU, i get no signal from the on board vga to my 22".

could it be that i need to run on a low res monitor or crt?
no that wouldnt make a difference, it will just run at a default res such as 1280x1024 on ur monitor. try running just 1 stick of ram closest to the cpu this sumtimes works. the other thing i would say is try using a old x2 cpu if u got one, and make sure your mobbo supports ur x4 out of the box (im pretty sure it does)
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 11-08-2008, 07:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 133
Default Re: First Boot Failure

Quote:
Originally Posted by baron5 View Post
no that wouldnt make a difference, it will just run at a default res such as 1280x1024 on ur monitor. try running just 1 stick of ram closest to the cpu this sumtimes works. the other thing i would say is try using a old x2 cpu if u got one, and make sure your mobbo supports ur x4 out of the box (im pretty sure it does)
Oh wow, i took off 1 stick and it started running. But it's only detecting 512mb of RAM. Is this normal until I install the OS?
Cajete is offline  
Old 11-08-2008, 07:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: First Boot Failure

try removing the video card completely and using the integrated GPU... if it boots and gives you a signal all good then you know one of 2 things is happening a) you've got a bung video card... RMA time, or b) its using the onboard VGA by default... you'll have to use the video off the IGP to get into windows, at which point you can enable hybrid SLI or just disable the IGP altogether

EDIT: beat me to the post... if it works with one stick in, try loosening your tRFC, tRRD and tRD (try 52-58, 4-7 and 8-11, respectively) and then sticking your 4GB in and running Memtest86+ - Advanced Memory Diagnostic Tool
__________________

__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! Emergency Need for school. Boot Failure. 5starog Microsoft Windows and Software 4 09-08-2008 02:08 PM
10 Ways To Make Linux Boot Faster Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 0 08-04-2008 09:36 AM
Boot Disk Failure phatphish Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 07-21-2008 02:31 AM
boot failure ohGrFreak Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 02-18-2008 12:15 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.