Fired Mobo by plugging in keyboard???? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-14-2009, 11:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hookster264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 162
Default Fired Mobo by plugging in keyboard????

I am upgrading a computer for my mother-in-law with a new mobo, cpu and ram, using her existing IDE optical and HDD. (these are to be updated soon too)

Mobo is EVGA nForce 730i.
CPU is Intel E7500 core 2 Duo
Ram is G.Skill 2x 1Mb GBNQ

I had the system powered on, all was working fine. The system was almost at POST and the display recognized the change in CPU and required CMOS updated to continue.

I went to plug a keyboard into the back and the system shut down. I thought I saw a small wisp of smoke coming from the back side; I also had the back side panel off.

Did I just fry the mobo? How could this happen by just plugging in a keyboard?

I did notice the mobo was a bit loose and slid maybe 1cm when plugging in the keyboard. Could the mobo have slid against a standoff and shorted?

Now when I attempt to power on the system all the fans will spin for a second, but it shuts off automatically right away.
__________________

__________________

Xion XON-180 Case
OCZ ModXStream 600w 50A on +12V
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 AM3+ mobo
AMD FX-4170 Zambezi 4.2GHz [stock heatsink]
2 x 4Gb DDR3 1866 G.Skill Sniper RAM
Corsair GT 60Gb SATA3 SSD
Evga GTX 465 GPU
Windows 7 Premium
Hookster264 is offline  
Old 09-14-2009, 11:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Fired Mobo by plugging in keyboard????

Yup, sounds like it shorted to me.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 09-14-2009, 11:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Fired Mobo by plugging in keyboard????

Take the board out of the case and see if it powers on.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 09-14-2009, 05:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hookster264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 162
Default Re: Fired Mobo by plugging in keyboard????

Okay I removed the mobo, and consequently had to disconnect all power connections.

I placed mobo on my desk and just plugged power to mobo and cpu. It powered up fine.

I reinstalled mobo into case and connected power to mobo and cpu only. It powered up fine.

I connected power to optical and HDD. It would power then flicker off.

I disconnected the optical with HDD powered only. It powered up fine.

I switched power from HDD to optical. It powered up fine.

I reconnected both HDD and optical. It powered up fine.

I connected all fans; everything now connected. It powers up fine.

Wierd!
__________________

Xion XON-180 Case
OCZ ModXStream 600w 50A on +12V
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 AM3+ mobo
AMD FX-4170 Zambezi 4.2GHz [stock heatsink]
2 x 4Gb DDR3 1866 G.Skill Sniper RAM
Corsair GT 60Gb SATA3 SSD
Evga GTX 465 GPU
Windows 7 Premium
Hookster264 is offline  
Old 09-14-2009, 05:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Fired Mobo by plugging in keyboard????

Well that's good everything is powering up fine now, but as a rule, I will almost always plug in mice, keyboards, etc., when it's off just as a precaution.

Not to say I haven't plugged in things while it's powered up, but usually I don't. It comes from being a guitar player, which you would never plug things in while the amps on usually.

It sounds like you are ok, but just keep an eye on things just in case.
oldskool is offline  
Old 09-14-2009, 05:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Fired Mobo by plugging in keyboard????

USB keyboard? Wonder if the psu is too old/weak to power everything and plugging the keyboard in was that last bit of power needed to push it over the edge.

Or you could have a bad molex on the power supply or something was shorted and reconnecting everything fixed it.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-14-2009, 05:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hookster264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 162
Default Re: Fired Mobo by plugging in keyboard????

I did recommend she upgrade her psu originally, but she was on a budget and could only afford the mobo, cpu and ram right now. Her current psu is an Enermax 300W, 22Amp +12v.

Since she is not installing a gpu card and only using onboard video right now, this may just barely be enough. I will recommend to her that the psu be the next upgrade as soon as possible.
__________________

Xion XON-180 Case
OCZ ModXStream 600w 50A on +12V
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 AM3+ mobo
AMD FX-4170 Zambezi 4.2GHz [stock heatsink]
2 x 4Gb DDR3 1866 G.Skill Sniper RAM
Corsair GT 60Gb SATA3 SSD
Evga GTX 465 GPU
Windows 7 Premium
Hookster264 is offline  
Old 09-14-2009, 07:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Fired Mobo by plugging in keyboard????

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldskool View Post
Well that's good everything is powering up fine now, but as a rule, I will almost always plug in mice, keyboards, etc., when it's off just as a precaution.

Not to say I haven't plugged in things while it's powered up, but usually I don't. It comes from being a guitar player, which you would never plug things in while the amps on usually.

It sounds like you are ok, but just keep an eye on things just in case.
Hotplugging USB items should be fine. I've done it with my USB mouse/keyboard multiple times in Windows.

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
USB keyboard? Wonder if the psu is too old/weak to power everything and plugging the keyboard in was that last bit of power needed to push it over the edge.

Or you could have a bad molex on the power supply or something was shorted and reconnecting everything fixed it.
THat's kind of what I was thinking as well, that there's a bad power connector, or the PSU is weak, especially since it wouldn't power up when he had both the ODD and HDD hooked up at once.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 09-14-2009, 07:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Fired Mobo by plugging in keyboard????

Usualy when hot plugging a PS/2 item such as a keyboard/mouse, it will blow the PS/2 ports out, but the board it self will be fine, just use USB compatable keyboards and the such.

But hot-plugging a USB device, in MOST cases is ok, I have seen some odd things happen, such as a random, 1, out of like 3000 hotpluggings of a jumpdrive, fry the drive and USB controller.

Sounds as if you didn't secure the board like you should have, and it slid out of position and shorted onto a stand off, or as others though, maybe the psu is pushing it, as enermax psus, aren't really good psus.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-14-2009, 09:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Fired Mobo by plugging in keyboard????

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Hotplugging USB items should be fine. I've done it with my USB mouse/keyboard multiple times in Windows.
Yes, carnage, but did we actually establish it was a USB keyboard ? I haven't seen the OP say that yet. Maybe I missed something.
__________________

oldskool is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any Tips Before Discarding a MoBo??? StupidRalph Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 01-17-2009 11:59 PM
weird keyboard issue superdave1984 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 12-10-2008 05:09 PM
static and my mobo funkywaggnelz New Systems | Building and Buying 10 06-12-2007 03:03 PM
Plugging wires in the mobo power panel incorrectly piggysmile Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-25-2007 09:17 PM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.