Figuring out what causes the problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-07-2006, 05:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
0tz
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 196
Default Figuring out what causes the problem

This is regarding my second rig. The first thing happened is when I copy pasted a file to My Documents, my pc suddenly freezes and I am getting no response at all ( Ive done Ctrl+Alt+Del, Alt+F4, Ctrl+Esc and still no response ) so I rebooted my computer. Second and third thing is when I am playing Warcraft, the screen suddenly blacks out but it has still the sound and responding. So I press Alt+F4, and when it returned, it looks like this. Please click link and download the screenshot ( TGA format, sorry I do not know how to upload a picture which can be viewed directly ).

http://rapidshare.com/files/2334859/..._022503_01.tga

I thought Warcraft has the problem so i reinstalled it but still the same Im experiencing those problems.

Even now, I browsed on Program Files, when I clicked it, the screen blacked out then came back again.. I know this is not okay. Im troubled which causes the problem.. I shall give every full details I can ...

This is the specs of my pc:

Intel Pentium 4 1.8 Ghz Williamette
ECS P4VMM2 Via Chipset
256MB Kingston DDR333 and 256MB Nanya DDR333 total of 512MB
Inno3D Geforce FX5200 128MB 128Bit
Dynamo 400W PSU
AOC 15" CRT Monitor
20GB Seagate IDE

Graphics Driver Version : 6.14.0010.6693 (English)

CPU Ratio: 12x

OS: Microsoft Windows XP Professional (Pirated)

Yeah my OS is not a geniune one, but why is it that last week I am not experiencing this problems? This occured just today. Can this be some sort of virus infection, malware and etc? Or some hard ware issues, heat problems etc? Please help me out I do not know which and what is the problem in this pc..Any information that you need please tell me..
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3800+ Venice
MSI K8N Neo4-F
Palit Geforce 6200TC 256Mb
2x512Mb SS Corsair Value Select
160Gb Seagate SATA

http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/t...alamandoti.png
0tz is offline  
Old 11-07-2006, 06:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
0tz
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 196
Default

This occured just now..My computer suddenly rebooted, and it continously make beeping sounds....Seeing that I cant stop it, I just have to turn off the AVR...Anyone can help me with this please...
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3800+ Venice
MSI K8N Neo4-F
Palit Geforce 6200TC 256Mb
2x512Mb SS Corsair Value Select
160Gb Seagate SATA

http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/t...alamandoti.png
0tz is offline  
Old 11-07-2006, 07:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 92
Default

could be alot of things. your power supply going bad. your ram is slack in the slot. your ram is failing. your hdd power cord is slack, any of everything could be loose, lol. power down your system and make sure all the wires are in properly. make sure your video card is in properly. now u have an elite group mobo. i dont like them because i bought one of their boards by mistake a long time ago and guess what, when my pc shuts down the mouse remains powered, only thing is that back then i did not know cuz i had a ball mouse, now that i have an optical mouse i realise that ecs is sh1t. i tried every possible option in the bios to fix that problem of mine but it cant fix.

back to your problem, check the big capacitors close the the cpu and also those on the video card. if you see any deformations or swelling of leakage then just replace the capacitors. you could do that yourself with a soldering iron and some solder.
__________________
cdkiller [everything is to be replicate]
cdkiller is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 03:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
0tz
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 196
Default

Ok Ill do that later and try to find out which is the problem...As of now, this rig is running fine...The time I started my PC again after last night, Windows gave me a prompt that it has recovered from a serious error. Anything got to do with my OS?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3800+ Venice
MSI K8N Neo4-F
Palit Geforce 6200TC 256Mb
2x512Mb SS Corsair Value Select
160Gb Seagate SATA

http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/t...alamandoti.png
0tz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.