Figure this out! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-06-2005, 06:33 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

thats the rest of ur drive, u installed it w/o sp1 so it u had a barrier, so now u can partition and format the rest.
__________________

__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 06:38 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

now for your other problem did u look in device mgr, are there any question marks?
__________________

__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 02:52 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 53
Default

I still dont know why the entire hard drive was not formatted with XP. And how do I format the rest?

i looked in device manager and the only question mark is next to Other Devices and Universal Serial Bus (USB) Controller
__________________
Thermaltake PurePower 460W
SUNBEAM Samurai ATX Mid Tower
DFI LanParty UT nF4-D Socket 939
EVGA Geforce 6800GT 256MB GDDR3
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Venice 1GHz
CORSAIR XMS 2GB
Seagate Barracuda 200GB 7200 RPM Serial ATA150 Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 990DF-Black 19\" CRT
arnold023 is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 05:47 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

XP didnt natively support big hard drives til sp1,u can just right click that box and create a partition, format and all that good stuff.

nitestick has an extensive and informative post on it here called the 137gb barrier.

for sp1 ur gonna hafta use the cd from ur mobo or find the drivers online for usb, sp2 u could just right click it and find online.
Bruce is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 06:09 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

sorry i misread it lol, thought it was sli obviously.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.