Fax ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2008, 08:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 190
Default Fax ?

I wasn't sure what forum to post this in so here goes...

We have a Lexmark X6150 printer/scanner/fax and we're having a hard time faxing. The phone jack works fine, I tried the house phone in it and got a dial tone. When I plug in the fax, nothing happens except the line goes dead. When I pick up the phone there's no sound for ~ 15 sec. then it goes to the busy tone. This is a Lexmark X6150 and we have Win XP Pro OS. Thanks in advance!
__________________

__________________
Hotmail
coolbrze is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 09:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 370
Default Re: Fax ?

You plugged the phone into what? Are you saying the phone doesn't work in the wall jack that you're connecting the fax to?
__________________

DoubleHelix is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 04:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 190
Default Re: Fax ?

Yes, plugged the phone into the wall jack to make sure it works.
__________________
Hotmail
coolbrze is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 09:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Fax ?

Hello,

Do you have Windows Fax installed and operational?

Cheers,
Mak
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 11:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 370
Default Re: Fax ?

So you connected the line from the fax to the wall, and the line is dead, preventing from you dialing out to send a fax? But if you connect a phone to this same wall jack using the same phone cord, you get a dial tone?

At this point, the computer doesn't need to be involved, so you can disregard having Windows Fax installed on the computer.

Did you read the manual for the device which should explain, step by step, how to configure faxing? It probably discusses checking menu options (on the device, not on the computer) and offers troubleshooting tips.

At this point, the problem seems with the all-in-one unit and not the phone line, phone cord, or computer.
DoubleHelix is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 11:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Fax ?

Hello,

Windows Fax does need to be involved.

How To Send a Fax in Windows XP

Windows will not send a fax thru a printer or any other device. Almost everytime you have to go thru Windows Fax to get it working. It will then fax thru the device selected.

Unless the printer software gave fax software with it. Windows Fax will need to be used. Even this here:

Faxing in Windows XP

Shows how to fax using a printer but still goes thru the Windows Fax software.

So my comment is still very valid.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 11:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Fax ?

an I would take Mak's advice he is a known MS expert even recognized by MS so take his advice.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 09:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 370
Default Re: Fax ?

This is an all-in-one device, so it does support stand-alone faxing that doesn't require a computer. It all depends on what the poster is trying to do. I'd suggest testing it out without a computer just to be sure it works and is connected to a working phone line.
DoubleHelix is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 10:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Fax ?

Hello,

The OP already stated in post 3 that they plugged it into a phone line to make sure it is working. Being a All in One device it still is dependent on Windows to perform the Fax. As i have not seen a All in One printer that gives you a keypad to dial with. Most of them have buttons for scanning and other things but not a keypad to dial with.

So you would have to go thru the Windows Fax software to accomplish this goal.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 10:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 370
Default Re: Fax ?

Every all-in-one printer/scanner/fax that I've worked with has a keypad for computer-less faxing. This one does too. Here's a link to the manual with more info.

Lexmark - X6100 Series - English

Post #3 says the poster plugged a phone into the wall. I was just looking to clarify that the poster tried connecting the all-in-one device to the same phone jack. I've seen several people not connect an all-in-one to a phone jack because they think the faxing happens through their Internet connection.
__________________

DoubleHelix is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Fax always in pending status bennyip Microsoft Windows and Software 3 06-18-2008 09:20 AM
How do I set Windows Picture & Fax Viewer as default? Denise_M Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-10-2008 08:59 PM
Vista home can not fax slimcan Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-02-2008 08:19 PM
Fax question RobertXYZ Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 01-16-2008 01:09 AM
Setting up a fax ZeroShade Off Topic Discussion 1 10-15-2007 03:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.