Faulty Processor..... Again? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-22-2005, 06:20 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

See if you can't test the CPU in anyone elses computer, but Id have to say bad motherboard, its either mobo or CPU now and since Mobo is older here, Lets elminate the CPU first.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 06:23 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

I agree with Ste. CPU and Mobo left. I suggest trying a new mobo since you said the processor is a mere 6 months old.
__________________

__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 06:42 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Yeah, those were pretty much my thoughts.

I was going to swap the processor out of my other (working) computer into this one to see if that solved the problem. Turns out that I cant figure out how to remove a processor from the mainboard, all I could do was undo the clips. So I gave up, clipped it all back up, and tried to boot it up again... Now it doesnt boot at all.

Im so good at this
__________________

Wylder is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.