Fatal System Error - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2006, 03:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default Fatal System Error

I was able to get my computer running this week and it ran perfectly, no erros nothing. When i started my computer i got this error:

STOP: c000021a {Fatal System Error}
The windows logon process terminated unexpectedly with a status of 0xc 0000135 (0x00000000 0x00000000).
The system has been shut down.

I have found that this error can be fixed by getting into the registry but i cant do this since I cant even get into the logon screen. It loads XP home and when the logon screen should pop up, this BSOD comes up. I have tried starting it in, last known good configuration, safe mode, and nothing works. Should i try a windows repair or reformatt and re-install. Thanks for the help.

thebleakness is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 06:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8

If you're familiar with using the command line, you could try using Recovery Console from the XP CD. After accessing Recovery Console, try running chkdsk.

CompGeek is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 07:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

try and replace winlogon.exe
go into the recovery console, and use this command:
copy D:\1386\winlogon.ex_ C:\windows\system32\winlogon.exe /y
that's assuming your CD/DVD drive is D:
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 11:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness

Ok, thanks for the help but that didnt work apokalipse or CompGeek. When i tried to repair through the windows installation, a message came up saying that a previous windows had not been found and if i wanted to continue installation. I chose no. Is there anything else that i can try?
thebleakness is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 12:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 734
Send a message via AIM to iam_not_2fast4u

check your ram voltage

RIP Flanker: 07-31-2005 - 03-03-2006 09:17 AM
iam_not_2fast4u is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.