Fan RPM's high? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-04-2006, 04:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 95
Default Fan RPM's high?

This is a screenshot of my AbitEQ when the computer is basically idling, having opened just one Mozilla Firefox window (it didnt change much after I opened Ffox [+1*C]):



Im not really worried about the temperature, I'm running an AMD Athlon XP 3200+, and they can run pretty hot (so I hear), but what I'm looking at are the Fan RPMS. Are those a bit high? Especially for idling?

Also, maybe twice in the last 3-4 months (one being today), my computer has thrown itself into sleep mode, and sounded some type of two-tone alarm. The temperature wasnt high at all, and it seemed to only happen when Windows was first starting up.

Motherboard - Abit AN7 uGuru
PSU - Raidmax (I know I know) Raidmax 550w

Any input would be appreciated, and I swear I'm gonna start giving back to this community somehow, you guys are always answering my questions.
__________________

martianX10 is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 09:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 24
Default

Make sure the fans are not blocked. Most will increase in speed when it does not get adequate airflow, for example, covering the top of the fan with your hand.
__________________

sumone is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 09:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 95
Default

Yeah, I could probably afford to get a more well ventilated case, or at least maybe a few nicer fans than the ones I have. It's cool though, as long as that doesn't seem alarmingly high to you guys, I'm fine for now. I'll probably first invest in a better power supply, considering this one is Raidmax. Seems to be working fine to me though.
martianX10 is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 11:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

have you checked for a dust problem in the HSF on the CPU?

If you have dust clogging your HSF, take a toothpick and lightly pull the dust out until the heatsink/fan are clear of any obstructions..


Do this when the computer is off, i am not saying to this make you sound dumb, but alot of people on here will flame you if you dont include all of the important yet common sense information.


Reply back on if there is dust in there or not.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 04-05-2006, 08:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 95
Default

Heh don't worry, I deal with a lot of people who would try doing it when it was on. "I feel your pain" :P

There isn't too much visible dust, but in the next few days I'll (lightly) take an air can to it, I'm not going to be here much today or tomorrow I don't think, so I'm not too worried about it right this second. Thanks again!
martianX10 is offline  
Old 04-05-2006, 09:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

you can do it uzi's way and use a tooth pik and be there all day or you can just take the heat sink off the cpu (while the computer is off) and then take the fan off and blow into the heatsink from a side angle to get all the dust out off that as well....

i just recently done this to mine and the temps drop...
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 04-05-2006, 09:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

the toothpick method works, takes 1 minute tops.. and your way of doing it, you have to reapply the grease.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 04-05-2006, 09:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 95
Default

Yeah, I don't feel like re-doing my therm right now, that s*** is a pain. Ill try toothpick/aircan sometime in the next few days and get back to ya.
martianX10 is offline  
Old 04-05-2006, 09:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by uzi9mm
the toothpick method works, takes 1 minute tops.. and your way of doing it, you have to reapply the grease.
but the toothpick doesnt clean in the heatsink ??? so that leaves the dust in there still causing the heat to become 'trapped' and not escape out the side of the heatsink ???
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 04-05-2006, 09:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Avalanch3
but the toothpick doesnt clean in the heatsink ??? so that leaves the dust in there still causing the heat to become 'trapped' and not escape out the side of the heatsink ???

That's why i used to use a paint brush on my old heatsink
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.