Failing to Start up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2011, 02:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
Default Failing to Start up

I am trying to re-work an old PC to work as a Media-PC, I have very low quality movies, and this isn't the issue, so don't tell me to get a proper computer to do it.

Its an Acer Aspire A60 (yes its 10-ish years old), and When I plug it in, it starts the normal start up proccess, before it can put anything onto my screen, it stops dead. Power button will do nothing, and its like the power has been cut.
Unplugging and re-plugging in straight away does nothing, requires a 15 second delay without power to try again. I have tried the ram, and it doesn't seem to be the issue. Power is cabled correctly, and everything else is in order.
Is it the power supply, and where is the cheapest option to replace it, considering I can't buy on internet (Don't ask), and there are some computer fairs here (In Newcastle Australia), over the next fortnight (2 weeks).

BadBoyJH is offline  
Old 07-31-2011, 08:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Slaymate's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Failing to Start up

It could be a number of things. Have you cleaned out the dust lately? Are all the fans working? It could be overheating.

Does the computer Beep? If any component is bad it could short out the system. I mean any component from a dc/dvd drive to the video or cpu.

It could be a power supply issue or a problem with the power circuitry on the motherboard.

With a computer this old you may wind up spending more money trying to fix the problem than you would buying a new computer.

Slaymate is offline  
Old 07-31-2011, 10:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
Default Re: Failing to Start up

There is dust in the Power unit, but without opening that up, I can't clean it any more. There are occasionally beeps (by which I mean it sometimes stay on for long enough for the computer to continually beep at me, before going caput.

The Power Fan spins, and the CPU fan spins, but that's all I have seen it do, it may be the ram, which I had sitting fairly unprotected out of the box for a while is it worth buying a stick of 1GB DDR Ram (That is the type of ram), because it was suggested to me that it might be the ram.
BadBoyJH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 is failing to start soarwitheagles Microsoft Windows and Software 23 02-25-2010 10:39 PM
HDD failing? san21893 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 09-10-2007 10:35 PM
RAM failing AMDSCOrPiO Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 03-16-2007 02:12 PM
HD Failing? meefle New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-28-2006 05:31 PM
Windows failing to start Ry-box Microsoft Windows and Software 5 04-27-2004 02:18 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:33 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.