failing gpu? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-16-2013, 08:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
apsoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 248
Default failing gpu?

Howdy all.
I recently moved my computer from my garage to the house, immediately wiped the hdd and did a fresh win7 install. Now the computer somewhat regularly freezes. Sometimes it will recover with a message that the graphics driver crashed but Windows was able to recover. Other times I need to do a hard reset. I have tried the drivers from the disk that came with my gpu and the drivers from the nvidia site. I also removed the card, sprayed canned air into pci-e slot and reinstalled. My psu is corsair 650tx that is probably only operating at about 50%-60%. I googled around a bit and the only things I have found is bad drivers or a failing card. I'm assuming it's not bad drivers as I was using the drivers from the disk successfully for years. If you all come to the same conclusion that I have (failing gpu) do you think it would be worthwhile to try a reinstall of win7? As in my problems could be a bad install of Windows or possibly the drivers were installed to a shaky section of the hdd? The reason I haven't done this yet is it takes me like a full week to download and install all Windows and game updates. And that's with dloads running all night and during work. I don't want to have to do that again so soon, but I will if it seems a likely cause.

Gigabyte 990fx ud3
Msi gtx460 768
Amd PII x2 555be
Corsair 650tx
__________________

__________________
I may be schizophrenic, but at least I have each other :crazy:
apsoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 09:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: failing gpu?

It does point to a possily dying GPU.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 11:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
apsoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 248
Default Re: failing gpu?

Thanks for prompt reply...

I believe I have about 2 months left on the warranty for the card. Should I try to return it? Also, is there anything else I could do to exclude other potential causes?

If returning the card is the way to go, anything I should/shouldn't do when returning it? I've never had to return faulty hw before.


Edit: so i just got home from work, and the computer would sieze up after about 5min. this happened about 4 times. 5 min of interweb browsing then freeze. GPU temp was 30c if that matters at all. So I hooked up an old HDD running linux and the computer has been going strong for about 15-20 min now... If nothing goes wrong here in linux, would it be safe to assume that my other HDD if bad and that is what is causing those lockups?

I did connect to my computer via teamviewer after it had frozen. It was at the user logon screen. I was able to click a user, enter the password, then it hung at the logging in process.

any thoughts?
__________________
I may be schizophrenic, but at least I have each other :crazy:
apsoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 01:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: failing gpu?

Do you have access to a 2nd video card, or any quality?

I don't know how a HD would cause gpu issues, but maybe it could.

Have you tried the newest drivers?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 02:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
apsoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 248
Default Re: failing gpu?

I believe i have an old 9300gt floating around somewhere... It doesn't have a fan but i could rig something up. IIRC i ran it passively successfully without crazy temps so long as i didn't push it.

My thoughts on the HDD causing errors is that the drivers are on corrupt sectors or something of that nature.

Yes, I tried the newest drivers. Although nvidia experience suggested a specific "gaming" driver that was different than what I had seen as the newest display driver for the gtx460.

So far so good with this HDD and linux... the only thing ive noticed (and probably only cause i'm being hyper critical of everything right now) is that typing occasionally lags a little.


EDIT:
Ok, so after playing around with the Linux HDD, I came back to my Win7 HDD and the computer has been running for a couple hours with no issues. the only thing that I changed was the SATA cable between the HDD's. Could my issues have been a poorly connected SATA cable? I will keep an eye on this and keep you all updated
__________________
I may be schizophrenic, but at least I have each other :crazy:
apsoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 08:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: failing gpu?

|sounds good so far.

A 9300 doesn't need a fan, so you're good there.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 12:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: failing gpu?

Quote:
Originally Posted by apsoul View Post
artifacts aren't the only thing... windows keeps crashing on me... sometimes will recover with message stating that the display driver crashed but windows was able to recover. Also if i increase voltage without changing clockspeeds it seems to cause artifacts. Weird right?

More info on the link to my thread (in these forums) dedicated to this issue
Yea, it's crashing and recovering because that's what Nvidia does on a bad OC without a BSOD. It's why I prefer their drivers over AMD among other things.

Are you upping the memory clocks at all, and what are your temps like?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 01:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
apsoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 248
Default Re: failing gpu?

Ahhh... that's nice to know. Not at PC now but would I be able to downclock the gpu through afterburner software to keep things stable?
__________________
I may be schizophrenic, but at least I have each other :crazy:
apsoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 01:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: failing gpu?

Yes. If your artifacts go away then you just need to up the voltage a tad to retain the factory OC.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 01:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
apsoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 248
Default Re: failing gpu?

well I have essentially undone the factory OC. Sitting at 675mhz/1800mhz for gpu/vram. Hopefully my pc stops crashing. If it does, thank you so much for the help Mguire, thanks to everyone else who replied as well.
__________________

__________________
I may be schizophrenic, but at least I have each other :crazy:
apsoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.