Fail to POST - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-25-2007, 09:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default Fail to POST

a friends HP desktop PC has some problems. Apparently It powered off during gameplay and now it will POST at the first attempt after a while left cold but it BSOD very early in the boot process and shuts it self off. The BSOD is only up for a split second, no way to tell what it says, not much more than a blue flash.
It then refuses to POST until its been left cold for x amount of time (hours maybe), all that happens is the fans power up (CPU & Chassis fans, not sure about PSU) - keyboard doesn't respond, no signal to the monitor.

I have some ideas myself what it might be but second opinions welcome.

Edit: BTW, its a P4 system, about 4 years old. Small crappy PSU - voltages check out but not sure if the fan is spinning.
__________________

__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 09:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Fail to POST

Id switch out the RAM First..

Then the PSU if it still fails with new RAM.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 10:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default Re: Fail to POST

I'm very much leaning toward thinking its the PSU - anyone seen these symptoms before? could it be the CMOS battery?
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 10:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Fail to POST

A failed CMOS battery would not cause this.

All that would happen if the cmos battery was dead, is no CMOS settings would be retained and the time in windows would be wrong..
Ste is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 10:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Fail to POST

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
Id switch out the RAM First..

Then the PSU if it still fails with new RAM.
That's what I'd do too. The BSOD makes me suspect ram first, psu second.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 10:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default Re: Fail to POST

OK, i'll give that a go.

I didn't think RAM because there are no beeps and its odd that it only POSTs after being left cold for a while. There are 2 sticks so I'll run with 1 and see if I can get memtest86 fired up.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 10:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Fail to POST

Don't rely on the motherboard beep system to help you trouble shoot.

If theres one thing I learned from my 7 AM highschool A+ Class is that motherboards are not all that reliable when it comes to getting the beeps codes to the corresponding problem correct.
Ste is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 11:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: Fail to POST

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrCoffee View Post
Small crappy PSU
theres the problem, 4 years not bad for a crappy PSU to last
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 06-26-2007, 12:58 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Fail to POST

stick to the usual elimination process and you'll find it. first though i would clean out the HSF and re-seat it.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't post anything on forums advancedgeek Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback 2 05-25-2007 11:36 PM
I cannot post a quick reply siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-25-2007 01:07 AM
they wont let me post anymore? siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-25-2007 01:06 AM
Help! MSI-P6N-SLI-Platinum NO POST. Reply Quick! Slooch Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 04-23-2007 01:57 PM
New Build-Won't Post, Help!! doodah12 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-14-2007 12:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.