Factory Settings, what the hell... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2012, 01:45 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Factory Settings, what the hell...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ugoboom View Post
Yeah, this is true. However if it were an ASUS computer in any way at all, it would say ASUS clearly on the case. I doubt he would have said I have no idea who the computer was made by if it were right in front of him.
All three of us never mentioned anything about a laptop.
Thats why I gave him my advice for trying a different key to try on the motherboard which usually gets it many types of asus motherboards.

Its just in his best interest to speak with asus and see what they recommend.
If he goes through pc specialist, I gurantee you they will charge him to reinstall the os if the partition is indeed gone and to setup everything if he wants it.
__________________

-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 04:00 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: I could be anywhere, at any time
Posts: 129
Default Re: Factory Settings, what the hell...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike-Techno-Thug View Post
Restart your laptop and hit f4 or f9 during post and it should start up and prompt you to restore your os to manufacturer condition.
However though if your hdd has gotten corrupt it will give you a error and you'll have no choice but to call asus for a restore disk.
ASUSTeK Computer Inc. -Support-
See above ^ You did say laptop and so did the next guy. I guess this is how people get confused. Anyway.... I suppose calling Asus won't hurt but in my opinion is a waste of time, since I believe they aren't going to help with a system they didn't build. They do not include windows disks with their motherboards. Also, I have dealt with ASUS numerable times and in fact they claim they do not keep a record at all concerning peoples windows keys on the systems that they DO build. You can get a disk from them but if you can't read your own key on the sticker they can't help you with that.
__________________

ugoboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 04:10 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: I could be anywhere, at any time
Posts: 129
Default Re: Factory Settings, what the hell...

The only luck he could have concerning ASUS is if "PC Specialist" is actually an OEM company such as some major brands that ASUS even designs custom boards for... in that case most likely the bios will have an OEM SLP in it and activation of windows won't be a problem if done correctly.
ugoboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 04:54 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Factory Settings, what the hell...

Ugoboom, please don't double post. If you have something to add, use the edit button.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 05:00 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: I could be anywhere, at any time
Posts: 129
Default Re: Factory Settings, what the hell...

ok
ugoboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 05:39 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Factory Settings, what the hell...

I said laptop by mistake, I meant desktop, otherwise I wouldn't have posted. xD
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 05:45 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: I could be anywhere, at any time
Posts: 129
Default Re: Factory Settings, what the hell...

Yeah I did notice that about yours, the post didn't make any sense unless you were trying to correct him lol
__________________

ugoboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to backup only a computers factory settings? UAHGorgix Microsoft Windows and Software 3 11-24-2011 04:42 PM
Return Computer to Factory Settings david0987 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 05-25-2011 10:46 AM
restore factory settings? djsanders Laptops and Notebooks 2 05-23-2011 08:48 PM
how to get back to factory settings sassypooh36 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 10 05-02-2005 12:44 AM
Factory Settings? Lagavulin Microsoft XBox 3 07-07-2003 07:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.