Factory Settings, what the hell... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-30-2012, 06:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 10
Default Factory Settings, what the hell...

For the life of me I can't find an option to restore my desktop to factory settings, before you ask I don't have the OS disk, I'm VERY confused as to what manufacturer this desktop even is, I bought it from PcSpecialist, on boot it displays 'Asus', system properties tells me the manufacturer is 'Pc Specialist'

I've tried F8, F9, F10, F11, F12 on boot, heck even F7 and that was just cause I was frustrated.

On my previous desktops factory settings was so easy, non-destructive restores just back to factory settings.

However I tried accessing factory restore through control panel, no luck, it's replaced with the option to restore with installation disk...

I've read about a hidden partition and what not, but I haven't a clue about any of that... help, please D:
__________________

Do You Even Lift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 08:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Factory Settings, what the hell...

What OS do you have? Was it preloaded with Windows?

Try calling the manufacturer and ask for a new DVD.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 11:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Factory Settings, what the hell...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Do You Even Lift View Post
pecialist'
I've tried F8, F9, F10, F11, F12 on boot, heck even F7 and that was just cause I was frustrated.

On my previous desktops factory settings was so easy, non-destructive restores just back to factory settings.

However I tried accessing factory restore through control panel, no luck, it's replaced with the option to restore with installation disk...
I've read about a hidden partition and what not, but I haven't a clue about any of that... help, please D:
Restart your laptop and hit f4 or f9 during post and it should start up and prompt you to restore your os to manufacturer condition.
However though if your hdd has gotten corrupt it will give you a error and you'll have no choice but to call asus for a restore disk.
ASUSTeK Computer Inc. -Support-
-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 10:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Factory Settings, what the hell...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike-Techno-Thug View Post
Restart your laptop and hit f4 or f9 during post and it should start up and prompt you to restore your os to manufacturer condition.
However though if your hdd has gotten corrupt it will give you a error and you'll have no choice but to call asus for a restore disk.
ASUSTeK Computer Inc. -Support-
He stated it is a desktop.

Chances are, it is a low end hand built machine by the shop using off the shelf components. That is the only reason it would be an ASUS motherboard, and the machine not having an ASUS logo on it physically.

As for the manufacture, anyone can set that rather easily to be them.

You will need to contact the place you ordered it from and ask them how you would go about performing a system restore. If they refuse to guide you, mention to them that they need to provide the product key and media for that PC so you can restore it. No legit manufacture leaves out a way for the consumer to restore a machine, they will always supply a reinstall CD, or a hidden partition for recovery purposes.

Major typo... >_<
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 11:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: I could be anywhere, at any time
Posts: 129
Default Re: Factory Settings, what the hell...

Are you in the UK? there is a big custom computer manufacturer in the UK called PC Specialist. I don't think they provide a recovery partition but apparently they provide a re-install DVD. Since you don't have it maybe you should contact them.

PCSPECIALIST - Custom PCs, Custom Computers, Custom PC, Desktop PC, Custom Built Computers, Gaming PC

Also if you want to check to be sure there is or isn't a recovery partition, you could check windows disk management. Click start menu and right click on computer (or my computer if it's windows xp) and click 'manage' from the next window click on disk manager (its on the left). Take a look at your harddrive and see if it is partitioned. If there appears to be a large partition with no drive letter assigned to it, chances are it has a recovery partition. If it does and you can't figure out the button to press on bootup, then I suggest you go to Super Grub Disk and read about how to use there software to access any partition you want at boot up. It's free too. Good Luck!
ugoboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 05:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Factory Settings, what the hell...

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
He stated it is a laptop.

Chances are, it is a low end hand built machine by the shop using off the shelf components. That is the only reason it would be an ASUS motherboard, and the machine not having an ASUS logo on it physically.

As for the manufacture, anyone can set that rather easily to be them.
Yes, in many ways that can be true, if someone upgraded the bios chips which is pretty common these past few years.
He could flip over the motherboard and get motherboard model number and it will tell him if its from asus officially or not.
Asus does provide the restore disk if they can find legit proof of purchase, even through second hand computer shops.

Had that issue off and on for the past 2 years, most manufacturers will help if they feel like you didn't break the item.

If all else fails, he should still have his oem product key for specified windows os.
He has options depending on what he says back here, so we'll see.
-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 11:09 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: I could be anywhere, at any time
Posts: 129
Default Re: Factory Settings, what the hell...

I'm totally confused as to why people think this is a laptop? lol he said desktop twice, never said laptop. Therefore Asus would NOT provide restore disks, since they didn't make the computer, it just has an Asus motherboard.
ugoboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 11:16 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Factory Settings, what the hell...

Actually, ASUS does make some Desktops.

Newegg.com - Desktop Computers, All-in-One PCs

(look under ASUS as the manufacturer)
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 11:22 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: I could be anywhere, at any time
Posts: 129
Default Re: Factory Settings, what the hell...

Yeah, this is true. However if it were an ASUS computer in any way at all, it would say ASUS clearly on the case. I doubt he would have said I have no idea who the computer was made by if it were right in front of him.
ugoboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 11:29 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: I could be anywhere, at any time
Posts: 129
Default Re: Factory Settings, what the hell...

I'm pretty confident that since he stated he "bought it from PC Specialist" and under system properties it says "PC Specialist", then most likely it was custom built by "PC Specialist" and it uses an ASUS motherboard.
__________________

ugoboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to backup only a computers factory settings? UAHGorgix Microsoft Windows and Software 3 11-24-2011 04:42 PM
Return Computer to Factory Settings david0987 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 05-25-2011 10:46 AM
restore factory settings? djsanders Laptops and Notebooks 2 05-23-2011 08:48 PM
how to get back to factory settings sassypooh36 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 10 05-02-2005 12:44 AM
Factory Settings? Lagavulin Microsoft XBox 3 07-07-2003 07:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.