External Enclosure - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-14-2006, 02:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Question External Enclosure

This is my first Enclosure. I have a :
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817201014
the hard drive iam using is :
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144701

the hard drive plugged in fine and directly into the enclosure ports. the problem iam having is XP recognizing the drive. I have plugged it in through the USB and it hasn't shown up under the my computer tab. If iam doing something wrong please let me know.
__________________

__________________
"After it's all said and done, more will be said than done." -- Quote by Somebody

Steam @ objecterror
objecterror is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 02:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

no your not doing anything wrong i actually dealed with a case just like yours and we never figured it out however mabey some of the things i suggested to him will work for you let me find the post. ill get back with you.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 02:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

ok here it is read through each page and try each suggestion along the way good luck. you can also skip to the last page and it should have a link to cnet.com forums where people have some solutions.

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...light=external
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 03:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jcortes
ok here it is read through each page and try each suggestion along the way good luck. you can also skip to the last page and it should have a link to cnet.com forums where people have some solutions.

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...light=external
eh, i tried it. are there websites to drivers that i can download to recognize the drive? Iam really stummped and kinda dissapointed if i just wasted my money - -;
__________________
"After it's all said and done, more will be said than done." -- Quote by Somebody

Steam @ objecterror
objecterror is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 03:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

no a mass sotorage device like that doesnt need drivers. have you tried all the solutions on the CNET link.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 04:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Arrow

upon checking in with c-net. it seems that alot of people are using the maxtor external drive. i just got the enclosure 4 hours ago and everything plugged in perfectly. the drive is running and working. and so far every box on the TWEAK GUI is checked, all the way down to Z. still nothing.
[/Edit]

After a system retore, i plugged the device in via my usb once more. powered it on and xp recognized it, said the unit was installed and ready to use but i still have no drive to select. answers possibly?
__________________
"After it's all said and done, more will be said than done." -- Quote by Somebody

Steam @ objecterror
objecterror is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 09:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Any possible way to format it? The computer should recognize it and you can format it. Have you customize windows settings. Maybe a usb recognization issue?
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 12:11 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

also try taking the hard drive out of the enclosure and putting the drive inside and format it
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.