extended desktop to a toshiba TV but no output black screen - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2012, 05:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Default extended desktop to a toshiba TV but no output black screen

hello techies,

i got a 15 ft hdmi cable to connect it to my dvi-d port from my pc to my TV. so my connection is like this pc dvi-d port ----> dvi-d to hdmi adapter ---> 15 ft hdmi cable ---> hdmi port of TV. when i restart my computer the extended desktop (TV) shows the post for a second then black screen, its like in a blinking manner after post it does not show anything anymore but black screen.

i would like to know if there is a work around for this problem.

processor: p4 3.0
mobo: ga-g41mt-d3v
tv: toshiba 32hl57

hope you could help me guys and girls.
__________________

mp3addict is offline  
Old 01-07-2012, 10:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: extended desktop to a toshiba TV but no output black screen

is the TV the only screen? Could be BIOS recognizes it, but Windows doesn't. Is this onboard video?
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-07-2012, 08:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Default Re: extended desktop to a toshiba TV but no output black screen

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
is the TV the only screen? Could be BIOS recognizes it, but Windows doesn't. Is this onboard video?
i have set in the bios to enable the onboard always....the board has 2 video outputs 1 vga and 1 dvi-d ... i am using the onboard vga port as primary (which is working) and would want the dvi-d port to extended...when i enter windows and configure the intel accelerator media it can detect the TV ..i tried to adjust its display setting to what the TV can handle but still its a black screen
mp3addict is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Black screen instead of desktop after virus - Vista 32 weewun Microsoft Windows and Software 8 02-08-2010 06:59 PM
Extended Desktop Question r3n3r4d3 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 08-09-2009 09:35 PM
HELP! Desktop turns on and restarts repeatedly, other turns on to black screen cvocvo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 12-31-2007 01:21 AM
help, got that black virus desktop screen vipercrazed HijackThis Logs (finished) 9 06-17-2006 02:11 PM
my desktop wont boot... black screen craft_nemic Microsoft Windows and Software 8 05-22-2006 09:28 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.