Expanded screen(moniter) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2005, 03:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Default Expanded screen(moniter)

one day my computer was making a loud noise (sounded like my fan over working itself and i shut off my computer).. then when turned on again the screen was horizontally expanded.. and was not able to decrease its size(even after reinstalling my video card drivers).. i can veritcally increase and decrease the size but it is stuck horizontaly stretched.

what steps should i do to figure out what the problem is?
what can i do to fix it?

specs-
ati 9800 pro
2700+ amd athlon
512 ram
__________________

CaseMan is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 05:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 182
Arrow This link might help...

I would suspect your video card or monitor.
Can you try the monitor on another computer???
Remove your cable...... check both connectors for bent/broken pins.
Check your Power Supply voltages.
Read entire link below.............

http://www.fonerbooks.com/video.htm

Good luck....
__________________

__________________
Sig reinstated.
JKnPA is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 03:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Default

the cord going into my video card only has 14 pins and is missing one from the middle column...
i have another moniter is the house that i can try.. i just have to get my hands on it
CaseMan is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 03:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Default

problem solved ====== moniter going out the window
CaseMan is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 05:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

im curious on how a pin can fall out while connected.. ?
Static_11 is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 05:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 90
Default

my monitor is missing one ping in the middle and it is still working
SpoiledBoar is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 05:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Heck, I guess that 15th pin is just redudndant! The noise is interestng. A loud continuous beep from the mobo speaker during operation generally inidcates that the CPU is overheaded on a Award or phoenix bios. So the noise may have been a frying capacitor in that monitor which I assume is a CRT not a LCD?
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.